Jump to content


Show
Photo

Lights


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Paisleyjim

Paisleyjim

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Renfrewshire

Posted 03 June 2014 - 05:41 PM

Hi guys just a quick question. I bought a pair of daylight running lights they have a red and black wire obv the positive and the neg. could I wire them right into the lights 12v power supply or will I need to find some other way of doing this ..cheers


Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,163 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 04 June 2014 - 01:48 PM

The correct way is to wire them into a relay. You would need one such as this: http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3f14a892ff

 

You basically put the negative to the battery, positive I fusetapped off the engine sensors from the aux fuse box, then wire the sidelight wire into the sidelights connector / wire.

 

Then when the engine sensors are active (with key in) the LED's come on, if the power gets to the sidelight, this then cuts over the relay and stops the power getting to the DRL's thus switching them off.



#3 Paisleyjim

Paisleyjim

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Renfrewshire

Posted 04 June 2014 - 06:32 PM

Nice one need to order this cheers mate


Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,163 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 04 June 2014 - 09:41 PM

no worries, really simple to install  :)



#5 Paisleyjim

Paisleyjim

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Renfrewshire

Posted 03 August 2014 - 05:58 PM

Anyone know how to wire up fog lights ?


Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

#6 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,445 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 03 August 2014 - 06:05 PM

Anyone know how to wire up fog lights ?
Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

loom plugs should be taped up behind the bumpwr ready to plug in to fog bulbs,
Just need to fit fuse to fog light socket in the fuse board and upgrade the lighting control switch enabling switch on/off of front fogs,
Ford sell a kit consists of fog light units, surrounds and interior switch.

#7 Paisleyjim

Paisleyjim

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Renfrewshire

Posted 03 August 2014 - 06:11 PM

That easy lol. Had the headlight unit out today was gonna wire it up to my side lights but thought it be a bad idea does it matter about the switch unit u use to turn lights on/off ?


Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

#8 Paisleyjim

Paisleyjim

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Renfrewshire

Posted 03 August 2014 - 06:11 PM

Sorry mate saw u answers my question bout the on/off switch


Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

#9 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,445 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 03 August 2014 - 06:48 PM

That easy lol. Had the headlight unit out today was gonna wire it up to my side lights but thought it be a bad idea does it matter about the switch unit u use to turn lights on/off ?
Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

  
if your focus was a 2005 build there is a chance the fog light loom is not present by default, in which case you will require this:
http://www.fordparts...m_f_1599361.htm
Ford later began fitting the same loom to all models then fitting the spec afterwards making it easy to upgrade, this is also the reason they sell the loom separate to the actual fog light kit itself,
If you remove the headlight and have a look around the area below the headlight and behind the fog light blank you should see a loom plug taped up.

Sorry mate saw u answers my question bout the on/off switch

no prob mate,
Heres a link to purchase the kit,
Or write down the part number Finis 1512477 and purchase from your local dealer
ive found fordpartsuk.com to be cheaper though,

http://www.fordparts...d_f_1512477.htm

Your existing light switch unit also has some ebay resale value worth bearing in mind. :)

#10 Paisleyjim

Paisleyjim

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Renfrewshire

Posted 03 August 2014 - 06:55 PM

  no prob mate,
Heres a link to purchase the kit,
Or write down the part number Finis 1512477 and purchase from your local dealer
ive found fordpartsuk.com to be cheaper though,

http://www.fordparts...d_f_1512477.htm

Your existing light switch unit also has some ebay resale value worth bearing in mind. :)

thanks for your help much appreciated


Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

#11 Paisleyjim

Paisleyjim

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Renfrewshire

Posted 03 August 2014 - 06:56 PM

I have bought the fog lights of eBay. So do I need the control switch and just plug and play so to speak


Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

#12 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,445 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 03 August 2014 - 07:10 PM

I have bought the fog lights of eBay. So do I need the control switch and just plug and play so to speak
Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

If you're focus was a 2005 build there is a chance the fog light loom is not present by default, in which case you will require this:
http://www.fordparts...m_f_1599361.htm

Ford later began fitting the same loom to all models then fitting the spec afterwards making it easy to upgrade, this is also the reason they sell the loom separate to the actual fog light kit itself,
If you remove the headlight and have a look around the area below the headlight and behind the fog light blank you should see a loom plug taped up.
If the loom s present then all you need is a fuse and the different interior switch also available from ebay.

#13 Paisleyjim

Paisleyjim

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Renfrewshire

Posted 03 August 2014 - 07:14 PM

I had the headlight off today and the panel where u fit the fogs. Never saw the loom but I will take ur word :D


Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

#14 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,445 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 03 August 2014 - 07:22 PM

I had the headlight off today and the panel where u fit the fogs. Never saw the loom but I will take ur word :D
Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

the loom may not be there on early mk2 models, but if you require the loom i have linked it in above posts,

When purchasing the replacement light switch there's two things you need to check,

1. Ensure it doesn't say "AUTO" because you dont have auto lighting this option on the switch will cause you to fail MOT because it does nothing on your car.

2. Ensure the unit your purchasing wasn't removed from a Mk3 Mondeo
Because although it looks identical to the one in the Mk2 and Mk2.5 focus its not, http://www.fordowner...MO_DIR#/sad.gif

its wider than the one in the mk2 and mk2.5 focus by over 1 inch,

I had one purchased in error :rolleyes: it connected to the loom and it did operate everything no problem, i didn't realise the size problem until i went to push it in to the dash http://www.fordowner...IR#/biggrin.gif i was after fitting it to the loom plug and tested all the features worked so i went to push it in to place and it was too big for the slot,

so it is possible but you need the correct width of unit. best advise if buying on ebay would be to ask the seller to measure the width of the unit, then compare to the one you have in the focus, its a struggle to get a unit that has light levelling wheel, front fogs, and no auto light feature.

the one i had from the mondeo was 1 inch wider than the focus one.

now to remove the control unit,
if yo look at the panel below the control unit you will see a pocket with the diagnostic socket in it and above the socket is a T25 Screw,
remove this screw then lift the rubber strip from the section of panel where it meets the door of the car,

then pull the panel toward the driver seat, straight out not up or down just straight.
once removed you can put your hand up to the light control unit,
it has a large clip top and bottom spanning the width of itself,

squeeze both clips down on to the unit and push towards the driver seat, it will then pop out,
just remove the loom plug and connect the new unit mate. http://www.fordowner...O_DIR#/cool.gif

Image1199-1.jpg
LightingSwitchMk3XenonAutoLightsFrFogsPa

#15 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,773 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 03 August 2014 - 07:29 PM

I have a guide to swapping the light switch linked under this post when viewed on a PC. ;)

Sent from my SM-G900F using Ford OC mobile app

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users