Jump to content


Photo

Question About Replacing The Sat Nav

satnav sony retrofit

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 peterparker5081

peterparker5081

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Benn
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: London

Posted 07 June 2014 - 04:58 PM

hi all just looking for a bit of advice as i dont seam to be able to find the answers anywhere else

 

so im in the process of buy a mk3 focus i have looked at a few but am angling towards a white auto etc or titanium

 

i wanted the sony stereo as my Gf has it in her new fiesta zetec and it does the job well

 

BUT

 

i also wanted a sat nav and the only focus i can find for sale with the sony sat nav are pushing £18k for a zetec? 

:D  :D  :D  :D  :D

 

soooo i was thinking if i bought the sat nav seperate will it just plug and play

 

is it a simple click in and out job?

 

has anyone done this so far

 

because if it need wiring, or the fitting needs to be modded in anyway?

 

will the sync still work like blue tooth etc?

 

and the unit i was gonna get is from the US if that makes any difference?

 

 

 

thanx in advance guys :D



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,106 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 07 June 2014 - 07:41 PM

Sadly you cant have both parts. You either have to have the satnav unit or a seperate unit like a tom tom. I do not believe there is anyway you could do it otherwise.



#3 peterparker5081

peterparker5081

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Benn
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: London

Posted 07 June 2014 - 11:14 PM

Sadly you cant have both parts. You either have to have the satnav unit or a seperate unit like a tom tom. I do not believe there is anyway you could do it otherwise.

 

both?

 

im asking if i can swith them over or will there be a lot more too it?



#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,106 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 08 June 2014 - 08:37 AM

swapping a headunit isnt too bad, but I dont think there is one with all you want in it.



#5 Rossbclarke123

Rossbclarke123

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Name: Ross
  • Ford Model: Kuga 2.0 TDCI Titanium +
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Essex

Posted 08 June 2014 - 12:08 PM

Are you saying here you just want to put a Sony Nav unit in it+

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Ford OC mobile app

#6 peterparker5081

peterparker5081

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Benn
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: London

Posted 08 June 2014 - 01:53 PM

Are you saying here you just want to put a Sony Nav unit in it+

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Ford OC mobile app

yes, i wanted to know if its a direct replacement job?



#7 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,106 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 08 June 2014 - 07:15 PM

You would likely need additional wiring for the GPS I suspect, and you may also need a stalk adapter to get the controls, but otherwise it should be a swap?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users