Jump to content


Photo

speedo question


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 dezwez

dezwez

    Dezwez

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,390 posts
  • Name: Derek
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.8 zetec mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 09 June 2009 - 06:52 PM

Hi i just got a new set of speedo clocks.
What i want to no is can i just replase them for the old ones
or is there anything i need to do to them thanks.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Purdy fpv

Purdy fpv

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Ford Model: Puma 1.7 VCT

Posted 09 June 2009 - 07:28 PM

Hi
When changing the hybrid electronic cluster. It must be replaced with exactly the same type for the same car with the same spec. It controls part of the engine management system. If it is not exactly the right part. The car will either not run or run poorly and some systems may not run properly.
A brand new cluster has to be programed by Ford.
For example-
If you put a petrol one in a diesel or a 1.6l one into a 1.8l, the car wont run.

#3 dezwez

dezwez

    Dezwez

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,390 posts
  • Name: Derek
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.8 zetec mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 09 June 2009 - 07:33 PM

Hi
When changing the hybrid electronic cluster. It must be replaced with exactly the same type for the same car with the same spec. It controls part of the engine management system. If it is not exactly the right part. The car will either not run or run poorly and some systems may not run properly.
A brand new cluster has to be programed by Ford.
For example-
If you put a petrol one in a diesel or a 1.6l one into a 1.8l, the car wont run.

right thanks for that

#4 Purdy fpv

Purdy fpv

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Ford Model: Puma 1.7 VCT

Posted 09 June 2009 - 07:37 PM

No problem. ;)

#5 dezwez

dezwez

    Dezwez

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,390 posts
  • Name: Derek
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.8 zetec mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 09 June 2009 - 07:40 PM

No problem. ;)

by the way do they have a part number mine 18 petrol lx estate

#6 Purdy fpv

Purdy fpv

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Ford Model: Puma 1.7 VCT

Posted 09 June 2009 - 08:06 PM

The cluster casing are more or less the same for all of the focuses. So no individual part number for type i'm afraid.!! It is the programing inside them that is different. The clocks have to be programed to your car by Ford.
If you put an un programed or wrong programed clock into your Focus, There is a good chance that it will fry your ECU.
Check with your Ford deal that you have the right clocks or find out what Focus that they came from before fitting them.

#7 dezwez

dezwez

    Dezwez

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,390 posts
  • Name: Derek
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.8 zetec mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 09 June 2009 - 08:08 PM

The cluster casing are more or less the same for all of the focuses. It is the programing inside them that is different. The clocks have to be programed to your car by Ford.
If you put an un programed or wrong programed clock into your Focus, There is a good chance that it will fry your ECU.
Check with your Ford deal that you have the right clocks or find out what Focus that they came from before fitting them.

thanks

#8 dezwez

dezwez

    Dezwez

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,390 posts
  • Name: Derek
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.8 zetec mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 09 June 2009 - 08:35 PM

thanks

sorry to be a pain
but if i put a speedo form a 16
then had it programed by ford would this be ok then in a 18

#9 Purdy fpv

Purdy fpv

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Ford Model: Puma 1.7 VCT

Posted 09 June 2009 - 08:49 PM

sorry to be a pain
but if i put a speedo form a 16
then had it programed by ford would this be ok then in a 18

Sorry but no :(
Once the cluster has been programed for a 1.6l it will only go into 1.6l's I think that Ford can only program new ones and they carnt reprogram old ones. So you need 1 from a 1.8l. But check with Ford to be sure.

#10 dezwez

dezwez

    Dezwez

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,390 posts
  • Name: Derek
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.8 zetec mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 09 June 2009 - 08:51 PM

Sorry but no :(
Once the cluster has been programed for a 1.6l it will only go into 1.6l's I think that Ford can only program new ones and they carnt reprogram old ones. So you need 1 from a 1.8l. But check with Ford to be sure.

will do thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users