Jump to content


Photo

Ford Focus Instrument Cluster


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 George Fieldhouse

George Fieldhouse

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Name: George
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus LX 1.4
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 11 July 2014 - 03:59 PM

Hi all, I have been having a problem with my speedo. It has been tripping out. So every time I drive, the speedo fails and everything hits 0. I have just bought a second hand instrument cluster from the same model and same year as my car. Any tips on how to get it reprogrammed to my ECU? I have no idea what to do. Or where to take it to get it done? And does anyone know how much it would cost me? Thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,961 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 11 July 2014 - 04:37 PM

Hi George,

 

You need someone with IDS (Ford or mobile locksmith) some indies will have it, but not all.

 

They need to install the speedo and then calibrate it to the immobiliser.

 

When it drops out, is it just the speedo or do all dials go to zero? it might be the VSS?



#3 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,104 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 11 July 2014 - 04:46 PM

Being a 2005, is it a mk1.5 or a mk2?
If it's a 1.5 then suspect as James said- speedo sensor on the gearbox.
If it's a mk2 have you had any diagnostics done to point you towards the cluster?
The mk2 takes speedo signals off the ABS sensors at the wheels.

Sent from my S5

#4 George Fieldhouse

George Fieldhouse

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Name: George
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus LX 1.4
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 28 July 2014 - 12:10 PM

All the dials drop. What is a VSS? It's a mk 2. I have had diagnostics done but all it really said was that it lost communications to cluster. If I tap the top of the dash where the speedo is... The dials go back up but then drop again. Every time I tap it the dials go back up and one light stays on and that light is the red cog with the '!' In the middle. (Don't know what it's called.)

#5 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,961 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 28 July 2014 - 03:42 PM

sounds like a faulty instrument cluster unfrotunately...



#6 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,104 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 28 July 2014 - 03:52 PM

Bad cluster contacts or connectors.
There are companies online that will recondition clusters with a quick turnaround.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Ford OC mobile app

#7 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,104 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 28 July 2014 - 03:54 PM

http://www.clusterre...ster-speedo-mk2

Sent from my SM-G900F using Ford OC mobile app

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users