Jump to content


Photo

Focus Mk1 Radio Install - Permanent Supply

audio

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 dahipster

dahipster

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 19 August 2014 - 03:00 PM

Hi all,

 

I've installed a new radio in my Mk1 Focus, the issue I have is getting it connected to the permanent 12V supply.  Please can anyone share a video / how to guide on this subject?

 

Thanks for your replies.

 

Chris



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Andy.B1971

Andy.B1971

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Zetec 1.6 TDCI
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Surrey

Posted 19 August 2014 - 06:24 PM

Did the radio NOT have the original plug on it ? If it has go to a car radio shop buy an ISO lead plug it in bish bash bosh connected without needing to cut wires etc , if not buy a test light or multimeter and probe your wires on the loom for the old radio supply for you permanent 12v supply.

. :D :driving:



#3 dahipster

dahipster

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 20 August 2014 - 04:05 PM

Thanks for your reply Steve.

Yes had the original manufacturer's cables coming out of the back of the radio. Got an adapter to attach to the Ford cables and they plugged in fine. Are they the wrong cables or not wired correctly?

Thanks again.

#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,740 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 28 August 2014 - 11:05 AM

have you checked the radio fuses? the one on the back of the unit and the one at the fuseboard?



#5 dahipster

dahipster

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 28 August 2014 - 11:13 AM

Thanks for your reply. The old, standard ford radio was working ok before I put in this replacement, would you recommend I still need to check them?

#6 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,740 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 28 August 2014 - 12:03 PM

definatey, if you connect the wires whilst live it can surge and cause a spike that will trip the fuse. I would recommend replugging in your old unit to make sure that it still works.



#7 AdeMk1

AdeMk1

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Name: Ade
  • Ford Model: Focus Mk1 & Impreza Turbo
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 29 August 2014 - 10:16 PM

As above, check fuses first as its possible one has blown while fitting the radio.

Ive had this problem before though and fixed it by swapping over the red and yellow wires that had bullet connectors on them (so red wire was plugged to yellow wire & yellow wire was plugged to red wire) then the radio I had would keep the station memory.



#8 dahipster

dahipster

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 07 September 2014 - 02:28 PM

As above, check fuses first as its possible one has blown while fitting the radio.

Ive had this problem before though and fixed it by swapping over the red and yellow wires that had bullet connectors on them (so red wire was plugged to yellow wire & yellow wire was plugged to red wire) then the radio I had would keep the station memory.

 

Thanks AdeMK1, thats the solution to the problem I was having!  Took the radio out and the red and yellow cables were swapped.  2 minute job to swap the cables and all sorted now.  Many thanks!!!



#9 AdeMk1

AdeMk1

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Name: Ade
  • Ford Model: Focus Mk1 & Impreza Turbo
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 17 September 2014 - 09:21 PM

Happy to help.




Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: audio

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users