Jump to content


Show
Photo

Dashcam Or Memory Card Problems

Dashcam SDcard Memory card help corrupt fake ford

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Ianb

Ianb

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 440 posts
  • Name: Ian
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.6 TDCI Style
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon

Posted 21 August 2014 - 12:27 PM

I have a Gs8000L and I'm trying to work out if the mickey mouse memory card some bum from ebay sold me is the big problem or whether the camera is also to blame... (I suspect the former).

 

I know James also has one of these cameras, so he might be able to help, but anyone else with one, or with a computery mind might be able to help too.

 

I take the camera without any memory card and plug it into the computer with it's usb cable, I get the following options:

 

'Mass Storage'

'PC camera'

 

Mass storage opens up a window to view the memory files on the camera

 

PC camera is looking for drivers or something - I'm sort of ignoring it :lol: - Found drivers and is appearing to tell me that it's now a webcam or something...

 

------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Then I unplug the camera, turn it off, put the memory card in, then turn it back on. It shows I have something like 3:45:00 of recording (in full HD 1080 etc) - on the 32gb memory card. I push record and it records. (I haven't seen for how long as I have no power source for it whilst I'm inside)... So then I stop recording, I can go back and view my recording.. all seems fine....perhaps?

 

Of course, lets say I recorded something amazing, or I want to keep that file etc, I would then want to connect it to the computer and take the file off the camera...

 

So I have two options - remove the memory card and put it in the adaptor, then put it in the computer OR leave the memory card in the camera and plug the camera into the computer via the USB cable... neither of which yield any results... It's like the card only exists when it's in the camera and doesn't exist anywhere else...

 



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Ianb

Ianb

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 440 posts
  • Name: Ian
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.6 TDCI Style
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon

Posted 21 August 2014 - 12:30 PM

Update... whilst playing around, I find the camera has a photo ability. I removed the memory card, so now it's just on it's basic internal memory and I took a photo. viewed it on the camera (looks fine), plugged the camera in and I can view it on my computer.. So it seems like it's definitely something not right with the memory card...

 

I don't understand why it can work with the camera and record a video, but not link up with my computer...

 

Initially I thought the adapter with it might not work, but then it's odd how it doesn't link to the computer when it's still IN the camera :/



#3 Ianb

Ianb

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 440 posts
  • Name: Ian
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.6 TDCI Style
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon

Posted 21 August 2014 - 02:56 PM

Further updates.. (I have too much time at the moment :lol: )

I found anther micro sd adapter and again filmed a few things, removed card, put it in adaptor, and this time I CAN access the files, so the adapter I was sent is naff.. I'm currently running a program to see if the card is a genuine 32gb aswell (or if it's been hacked)..

Problem still lies with not being able to connect the card to the computer THROUGH the camera...

Grrrr


Sent via carrier pigeon using Ford OC

#4 Ianb

Ianb

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 440 posts
  • Name: Ian
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.6 TDCI Style
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon

Posted 21 August 2014 - 05:03 PM

Ran a memory card test H2testw, which apparently tests to see if the card is legitimate or whether it's a smaller card that's been 'hacked' to look bigger...
 
The media is likely to be defective.
7.3 GByte OK (15484599 sectors)
23.7 GByte DATA LOST (49830217 sectors)
Details:0 KByte overwritten (0 sectors)
0 KByte slightly changed (< 8 bit/sector, 0 sectors)
23.7 GByte corrupted (49830217 sectors)
0 KByte aliased memory (0 sectors)
First error at offset: 0x00000001d88d6e00
Expected: 0x00000001d88d6e00
Found: 0xcc2fe3e537ad8574
H2testw version 1.3
Writing speed: 6.32 MByte/s
Reading speed: 12.2 MByte/s
 
Can anyone decipher this?
 
It was after running the H2testw on the memory card..
 
It would appear to me that where it says 7.3 GByte OK and 23.7 GByte DATA LOST that I've been screwed and that my "32Gb card" is actually more like an 8Gb card... am I right?
 
It is also a class 10, I think this could be accurate as Reading speed: 12.2 MByte/s is probably a good result for a class 10 yes?
Or is it the writing speed? Any ideas?


#5 jimbro

jimbro

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Stirlingshire

Posted 21 August 2014 - 06:50 PM

I have a dashcam in my car and one in my work van. My wife has one too(lots of idiots on the road)

I only ever use Sandisk 32GB class 10 cards.

I tried lots of the cheapies off ebay but they failed pretty quickly. Some claimed to be 32GB but HDTune would show them to be class 4(at best) and lots of bad sectors.

 

I run mine constantly until the card fills, format it and let it start again. Only remove it if something happened and I wanted to keep the video.

I've been doing it that way, with the same card, for over a year now



#6 Ianb

Ianb

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 440 posts
  • Name: Ian
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.6 TDCI Style
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon

Posted 21 August 2014 - 08:56 PM

I have a dashcam in my car and one in my work van. My wife has one too(lots of idiots on the road)

I only ever use Sandisk 32GB class 10 cards.

I tried lots of the cheapies off ebay but they failed pretty quickly. Some claimed to be 32GB but HDTune would show them to be class 4(at best) and lots of bad sectors.

 

I run mine constantly until the card fills, format it and let it start again. Only remove it if something happened and I wanted to keep the video.

I've been doing it that way, with the same card, for over a year now

 

Yeup, unfortunately this was a Sandisk 32GB class 10... when it arrived the word 'sandisk' was no where to be found on the card!!! I checked back and I have seen the seller has changed the picture.. I've questioned this and they offered me a £1 refund for a good review.. since checking the above info I'm inclined to tell them they can take that £1 and add it to the rest of my cash and give me a full refund!!! 

 

I'm just waiting on someone with the know how to put their spin on the above information. 

 

:)



#7 jimbro

jimbro

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Stirlingshire

Posted 21 August 2014 - 09:07 PM

Looks like most of the card is corrupted. Also, the read/write figures are way off for a class 10 card. A class 10(uhs1) should read around 20mb/s and write around 10mb/s. Yours has the speed of a class6

#8 Ianb

Ianb

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 440 posts
  • Name: Ian
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.6 TDCI Style
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon

Posted 21 August 2014 - 09:19 PM

Looks like most of the card is corrupted. Also, the read/write figures are way off for a class 10 card. A class 10(uhs1) should read around 20mb/s and write around 10mb/s. Yours has the speed of a class6

 

Thanks for the feedback, that's excellent. I'm going to tear the seller a virtual new one!



#9 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,174 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 28 August 2014 - 12:22 PM

Hi Ian,

 

Sorry been away mate!

 

Yeah basically your memory card is counterfeit. I have been caught out many a times by them.

 

They basically put an 8GB chip in there, and load 32GB firmware. So what happens is you right up to 8GB, but as soon you go 1MB over, the file is written to the controller, but cannot be written to the card. The computer thinks its written (controller says I have done it) and then you are mugged off with lost data.

 

You need to keep looking to find the gem in amongst them, but I tend to buy memory cards these days from memorybits. They are relatively cheap in comparison, otherwise you could spend weeks trying to find a cheap and genuine 32GB on ebay.

 

I would expect to pay around £18 on ebay for a genuine memory card.
 



#10 Ianb

Ianb

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 440 posts
  • Name: Ian
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.6 TDCI Style
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon

Posted 28 August 2014 - 12:34 PM

No worries James, I bought one from Tescos I think it's a sandisk 32gb and was about £15.. although sending the camera back as it's faulty...



#11 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,174 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 28 August 2014 - 01:55 PM

What's wrong with the cam?

#12 Ianb

Ianb

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 440 posts
  • Name: Ian
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.6 TDCI Style
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon

Posted 28 August 2014 - 02:27 PM

What's wrong with the cam?

 

Firstly the 12v power cable didn't work. I then got power by connecting the usb cable to an adapter in the car and when I recorded footage with it, I got a fuzzy pulsing electrical noise on the footage.. the footage was also not HD as claimed (although I wasn't too worried about not being HD but it was just poor).. 

 

Also I don't think it's a fault, but I don't know if it's common, the camera when powered by the car suddenly flipped to negative appearance... I could film in it and watch it back whilst still powered by the car and it was still negative, but when I took it inside and watched the footage it went back to normal.. so it was really strange.. That didn't affect camera usage but I didn't know if it was right..

 

ALSO.. not much of a big deal, but the ebay pictures showed a nice 'company made' box the usual thing:

http://s3.amazonaws....00-13.jpg/600/0

 

 

Something like that.. When it arrived it was in a jiffy bag with a tiny black cardboard ripped box with a handwritten label on it.. so all in all I didn't get the good experience from the seller that I'd have liked..



#13 jimbro

jimbro

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Stirlingshire

Posted 28 August 2014 - 02:32 PM

I've got three dashcams. One in the mondeo, one in the van and one in my wife's car. All the same make. No probe with them so far and that's over a year.
http://www.amazon.co...4&robot_redir=1


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Dashcam, SDcard, Memory card, help, corrupt, fake, ford

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users