Jump to content


Photo

Removed C90 Connector And Big Problems.


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 simcor

simcor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Simon
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI (DPF) Aquarius Blue
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 22 August 2014 - 04:33 PM

Checked the C90 connector in fuse box by battery, now I have an immobilised car, no communication at all from IDS to any ECU and code 16 on the immobiliser light.

 

Anyone have a diagram of the can wire in this connector for me to check it?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 simcor

simcor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Simon
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI (DPF) Aquarius Blue
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 22 August 2014 - 09:12 PM

Ok so doing some searching it seems there is a faulty link between the PATS module and the PCM, hence the no start, determined from the error code 16 on the dash diagnostics.

 

So it has to be a link with this C90 connector that I removed and cleaned with contact cleaner and then replaced, since I did that it has gone haywire.

 

I wonder if the fuse has blown for the PATS? No idea where that fuse will be either.



#3 troy45

troy45

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 338 posts
  • Name: Troy
  • Ford Model: Focus ST
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 22 August 2014 - 10:43 PM

You could try fuse 67 (10A) in the passenger junction box, this is for Instrument cluster, ignition supply and immobiliser.

 

As for the C90 connector, would recommend disconnecting it and checking you've not got a bent or backed out pin on either side of the connector. Wouldn't expect a backed out pin to cause a fuse to go but still worth checking it all.



#4 simcor

simcor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Simon
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI (DPF) Aquarius Blue
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 23 August 2014 - 08:16 AM

Surely that fuse would stop power to the ignition and cluster though?

 

I have removed the connector several times, sprayed contact cleaner on it then checked all pins they all loo well seated and pretty clean. Can't find anyone who sells conductive grease for electronics locally so that's a bummer too.



#5 simcor

simcor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Simon
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI (DPF) Aquarius Blue
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 23 August 2014 - 09:46 AM

Removed fuses in the junction box with C90 connector and checked them all then removed the C90 connector again and reseated it it and hey presto car starts again, thank goodness for that. Relieved is not the word.



#6 troy45

troy45

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 338 posts
  • Name: Troy
  • Ford Model: Focus ST
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 23 August 2014 - 12:20 PM

Glad you got it sorted



#7 simcor

simcor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Simon
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI (DPF) Aquarius Blue
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 23 August 2014 - 12:26 PM

Not completely sorted as it now starts and runs again. I still have a can fault somewhere as I can't access various functions on IDS saying modules cannot communicate. Running alarm tests does not work, accesssing the GEN does not work nor door ECU's which IDS reports as standard equipment when running a network test most pats complete the network test apart form those from memory. Still have the engine fault light on and won't rev past 3k but think that is either glow plugs or down to the can wiring problem. Maybe it is the cluster issue why I'm having can faults, but all the cluster tests run ok and that seems to check out fine on IDS. Maybe someone with proper knowledge on IDS will know what is wrong or what I am doing wrong.

Sent from my HTC One using Ford OC mobile app

#8 JW1982

JW1982

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 449 posts
  • Name: Wilco
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 First Edition
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 August 2014 - 12:40 PM

Do you use an original Ford/Rotunda VCM or a Chinese clone with the IDS software?

Some of the Chinese clones can not connect proper to some of the modules. All modules you can not connect to are on the mid-speed CANbus network so possibly your VCM can only connect to the high-speed CANbus network.

#9 simcor

simcor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Simon
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI (DPF) Aquarius Blue
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 23 August 2014 - 01:18 PM

It is a Chinese clone VCM 2 so you might be right shame if that is the case. Is there any fixes for that if it is that? Like rewiring the OBD connector on the cable or adding a switch etc?

Sent from my HTC One using Ford OC mobile app



#10 simcor

simcor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Simon
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI (DPF) Aquarius Blue
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 23 August 2014 - 02:26 PM

These are pictures of the front and back of the case and also front and back of the circuit board.

Sent from my HTC One using Ford OC mobile app

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1408803314193.jpg
  • 1408803332248.jpg
  • 1408803346711.jpg
  • 1408803360692.jpg


#11 simcor

simcor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Simon
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI (DPF) Aquarius Blue
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 23 August 2014 - 03:18 PM

Hmm just tried connecting to the GEM again and this time it said unable to read system status not communication failure, how strange.



#12 JW1982

JW1982

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 449 posts
  • Name: Wilco
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 First Edition
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 August 2014 - 05:39 PM

I suspect your problem is caused by the Chinese Vcm 2. Many of the cheap Chinese clones are internally different from the original VCM 2. Because of this not all of the IDS functions may work.

Some of the clones can even brick one or more modules during diagnostic or module reprogramming.


Many of the Focus MK2 versions do not even have door modules. Door modules are only used on a Focus Mk2 If one or more of the following options are factory fitted.

* Comfort Windows (4 Electric windows).
* Factory alarm.
* Double locking.
* Side mirrors with indicators.
* Side mirrors with puddle lights.

If the car does not have one or more of these options there are no door modules. I have seen before that IDS detects door modules on a car which does not even have them.

#13 simcor

simcor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Name: Simon
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 1.6 TDCI (DPF) Aquarius Blue
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 23 August 2014 - 06:09 PM

Well that explains not being able to talk to the DCU's then as mine does not have them lol

Do I have a GEM fitted then?

Sent from my HTC One using Ford OC mobile app

#14 JW1982

JW1982

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 449 posts
  • Name: Wilco
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 First Edition
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 August 2014 - 10:00 PM

The GEM module of the Focus MK2/MK2.5 is fully integrated into the (interior) fuse box. The GEM module/fuse box controls most of the comfort and exterior/interior lights related functions.

If your VCM is not able to diagnose or connect to the GEM module/ fuse box it is most likely caused by the VCM.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users