Do Not Sell My Personal Information
The General Chat forum is ONLY for threads which DO NOT fit any other category. If your thread is anything do to with a specific model, it should go in the relevant model club section

Induction Kit Or Air Filter

Damon Cook

Hi guys im new to FOC so forgive me if ive posted this in the wrong place im considering putting an K&N induction kit on my 1.8 TDCI focus ive hear varied arguments for and against any advice would be greatly appreciated

• Like 1

Hi guys im new to FOC so forgive me if ive posted this in the wrong place im considering putting an K&N induction kit on my 1.8 TDCI focus ive hear varied arguments for and against any advice would be greatly appreciated

Welcome to the forum Damon,

Any filter upgrade that uses the existing airbox such as K&N will do nicely,

You have a turbo so you will feel more benefits than someone with a naturally aspirated engine,

I also highly recommend you blank your EGR valve to prolong the life of your engine,

Both these mods will increase your mpg and reduce turbo lag,

Search: stainless steel blanking plate 1.8tdci on eBay.co.uk

Awesome thanks for the adivice how do i go about blanking the EGR valve is it an easy job or somthing i should get a mechanic to do

• Like 1

Im also finding pulling off at junctions a little difficult due to first gear needing nearly 4k revs before i get any power any ideas on improving the the power to first ? Or is that a remap job?

• Like 1

Just put a panel replacement on it, far better than a "Kit" in most cases, Manufacturers designed airboxes like this for a reason, a silly little generic pipe / tube would in place if they were that great on all car ( Awaits flak from the Induction kit made me beat a Bugatti clan ) plus the K&N ones I think are washable so you never have to buy another, was the case a few years ago anyway, Induction kits on the other hand get filthy very quick and you'll end up with powerloss.