Jump to content


Photo

StreetKa Air Con


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Paul123

Paul123

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Street Ka
  • Location:

Posted 22 June 2009 - 02:00 PM

Hi,

I have a 05 StreetKa. The air con hasn't worked for a couple of weeks... before I take it in for a service, is there anything I can do to check the air con over to help save me money?

The compressor not longer clicks into action when I press the air con button, although the light illuminates. I've check the fuse in the cab and it seems ok... are there any other fuses? Does anyone know where the relay is located... or does it sound like it just needs a re-fill?

Cheers

Paul

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 delboy

delboy

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 539 posts
  • Name: martin
  • Ford Model: c-max ghia 1.8 petrol /ka 1.2 mk2
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Somerset

Posted 22 June 2009 - 04:32 PM

Hi,

I have a 05 StreetKa. The air con hasn't worked for a couple of weeks... before I take it in for a service, is there anything I can do to check the air con over to help save me money?

The compressor not longer clicks into action when I press the air con button, although the light illuminates. I've check the fuse in the cab and it seems ok... are there any other fuses? Does anyone know where the relay is located... or does it sound like it just needs a re-fill?

Cheers

Paul



hi m8
there is nothing you can do to check the aircon

the pump may not start dues to lack of gas to protect it's self .
i would not worry to be honest as it's most prob just gas (re-fill)needed

best to take to fords as they are about the same as other places & will do a clean aswell

get a price 1st
my area bristol charges about 55.00 (fords)

#3 Paul123

Paul123

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Street Ka
  • Location:

Posted 22 June 2009 - 05:12 PM

Cheers Delboy, much appreciated.

Paul

#4 Marko10

Marko10

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: streetka
  • Location: Norfolk

Posted 28 June 2009 - 05:34 PM

Hi Paul

Did you get to the bottom of this yet? My wifes 2005 Streetka has developed a similar problem. I havechecked out a lot of the system and so far everything seems to be working okay. There is power doen to th ecompressor but the clutch does not engage. I'm thinking that maybe a new compressor will be the answer....

Cheers Mark

#5 delboy

delboy

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 539 posts
  • Name: martin
  • Ford Model: c-max ghia 1.8 petrol /ka 1.2 mk2
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Somerset

Posted 30 June 2009 - 06:04 AM

hi guys

is it's no engaging it maybe just the lack or gas
it uses the pressure to get going so if it don't have any pressure it wont fire up.

you seem to be looking on the half empty side of things
it actually half full

take it to fords to get it checked out 1st

#6 Marko10

Marko10

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: streetka
  • Location: Norfolk

Posted 30 June 2009 - 07:10 PM

I have looked at Ford TIS and there is a test sequence to check out the clutch without firing the engine up (which would override the pressure issue). You have to bypass the WOT relay etc. I have not had a chance to look at this yet, but will report back when I have. There are two pressure switches on the system which could cause the problem, but I suspect the magnetic clutch as there is power down to it. We'll see...

#7 Marko10

Marko10

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: streetka
  • Location: Norfolk

Posted 07 July 2009 - 07:38 PM

Went through the test sequence the other day. Turned out to be the low pressure switch on the compressor (not the low pressure switch in the LP line). All sorted now.

#8 1982robw

1982robw

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Ford Model: streetka

Posted 09 March 2010 - 05:26 PM

hey, how do you do the test sequence on the streetka aircon system? what did you do to the low pressure switch? my wifes aircon is absolutely rubbish..

#9 Marko10

Marko10

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: streetka
  • Location: Norfolk

Posted 03 April 2010 - 03:18 PM

hey, how do you do the test sequence on the streetka aircon system? what did you do to the low pressure switch? my wifes aircon is absolutely rubbish..

Hi m8,

sorry for not replying sooner - I don't look at this site very often. Anyway, the test sequence is fairly straightforward. It is on the Ford TIS (which is available on cd very cheaply on ebay I hear ;-))

My wife's streetka is a fairly late one and incorporates a switch into the side of the compressor itself (not all of them have this). It is pressed in and I suspect cannot be changed. Anyway, after following the test sequence through, I identified this as the problem by bridging it (it was the last check in the sequence, everything was okay until then). Once I had done that it fired into life. The answer is a new compressor really but it works okay as it is. When you say your wifes aircon is rubbish, do you mean it is working but not very cold? If so, I doubt that you have the same problem as me - more likely needs re-gassing.

Anyway have a look at service manuals on cd on ebay.

Hope this helps

Mark

#10 1982robw

1982robw

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Ford Model: streetka

Posted 05 April 2010 - 05:23 PM

great info, thanks. so the ford TIS is a service manual guide?

#11 1982robw

1982robw

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Ford Model: streetka

Posted 05 April 2010 - 05:24 PM

how much would a re-gass roughly be then? as it may well be that.

#12 Marko10

Marko10

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: streetka
  • Location: Norfolk

Posted 05 April 2010 - 05:53 PM

how much would a re-gass roughly be then? as it may well be that.


Might be 80 or so at some fast fit places. However, Halfords do a kit for about 40. It includes a connector and pressure gauge. After that you can get refills for about 20.

As for the TIS - it is Fords Tecnical Information System. I have a spare cd that you can have if you pm me. I got one off Ebay that I couldn't get to load at first so the guy sent me another. However, it turned out to be a problem on my pc so I have two now. I think I only paid a few quid for it.

Cheers

mark

#13 Jcoventry

Jcoventry

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Ka 2008 Style Climate 1.3
  • Location:

Posted 05 April 2010 - 08:50 PM

most local garages do a regas for 40-50 i think

#14 grahamfromoldham

grahamfromoldham

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Ford Model: Streetka

Posted 06 April 2010 - 10:29 AM

most local garages do a regas for 40-50 i think


If anyone is in the Greater Manchester area, I use a guy who does air-con and he is mobile so it can be done at home. Last time he came to look at one of my Vauxhall's he spent a good two hours here and charged me about 70 which was well worth the money. There is more to air-con than simply re-gassing it. Its vital that leaks are checked for correctly with the pressure gauge, old gas removing then new gas injecting. If anyone needs his details, send me a message.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users