Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Got A Few Problems, Starting, Misfiring

RobA

Hi guys,

Newbie here with a few problems with my 2007 1.6 115 petrol focus.

Had some rough running last winter and had the EML come on, went to my local mechanic, plugged it in and it was the coil pack failing, so had that replaced and it seemed to be fine for a while.

Then at the end of winter the coolant seemed to take a lot longer to heat up and whilst it was warming up the temperature gauge would go up and down until it got up to normal running temperature, as if it was letting cold water through and "cooling" the temperature sensor. The MPG was also very poor, (23, vs the 38 I'd had for the last two years).

Went back to my garage and he recommend replacing the temp sensor as that sounded like the cause of the problem.

I replaced that but by the time I'd done it, it was summer and I didn't have the coolant temp problem, now winter is upon us its risen its head again along with the poor mpg.

I have also got a starting problem which to me sounds like the ring on the fly wheel has worn the teeth down which means the starter isn't engaging and just "tinging" on the worn teeth.

If I push the car in gear and make the engine turn over manually it will then start fine.

Or is it the battery starting to fail which isn't giving the starter enough juice to put the cog out far enough.

I think it's the original battery as I've owned it since December 2011, haven't replaced it and it has got ford stickers all over it.

Is my diagnosis correct, I believe its a gearbox out to replace the toothed ring?

Last one, which I think is related to my first problem, when on the motorway using cruise control it will judder every so often as if it's got a slight misfire, reading on the web, if the ht leads are failing it can take to coil pack out as well so should I replace them?