Do Not Sell My Personal Information

1.0 Fiesta/ Focus 125Hp

London's Finest

Hey guys,

Just wondering, but have any of you got a ford fiesta/focus 1.0? Whats it like? What does it accelerate like? Does it feel like a 1.0? How does it handle the motorway? ( I know its for the city driving but...you never know ;) )

I have a 1.0 125ps Fiesta & acceleration is very good & it loves the motorway. I had a 1.4 previously & the 1.0 knocks spots off it! You can tell it's only a 3 cylinder engine when starting from cold but it is an excellent engine.

as an engineer i always wonder about smaller engines pulling large weights,,, even with a turbo clamped to it.
i get the feeling that in 7-10 years a few people will wish they got the bigger engine maybe.

Only time will tell i think.

I had a focus and fiesta ecoboosts before the kuga and they are cracking cars.

I would recommend the 1.0 125 ps as it has the six speed gear box and pulls a lot better.

The engine has won various awards for Ford and it's very popular.

I can see what Ian has said above but the way manufacturers test their engines and vehicles before releasing them I can't see their being a problem! As said time will tell but I guess that's down to personal preference and how long you tend to keep cars for.

I recommend you go to a dealer a test drive a 1.0 in a focus and fiesta back to back and make your choice from their but in my opinion the engine is capable of managing the focus.

I've got a 1.0 125ps Focus Zetec S after having two 1.6 petrol cars (Focus Mk 2 and Mk 2.5)

The 1.0 knocks spots off of them. Nippy when needed (the overboost is great) and just a great car to drive.

here's a bit of reading matter for you,, very interesting i thought.

http://www.autonews.com/article/20140526/OEM06/305269991/can-3-cylinder-engines-overcome-their-wimpy-reputation?

some good comments at the end of the article too.