Jump to content


Photo

HEGO Sensor??


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 LottieKA86

LottieKA86

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Street KA

Posted 14 August 2009 - 07:20 PM

Hi guys!

I've got an 03 street ka and its just been in the garage and i've forked out 850 for a new computer - which i needed because i was getting various warning lights showing unnecessarily on the dash (ABS & Battery warning lights) my speedo wasnt working either..........BUT i've now been told since the computer has been replaced that i need to spend another 200 on a HEGO sensor.............is this important? how long can i go without it not working?? I have an engine warning on the dash now!! HELP!!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 LottieKA86

LottieKA86

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Street KA

Posted 14 August 2009 - 07:32 PM

I'm probably being really blonde - but any info would be much appreciated!!

#3 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,191 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 14 August 2009 - 08:37 PM

I'm probably being really blonde - but any info would be much appreciated!!


the 'hego' sensor is just a lambda sensor. it sounds to me like the garage is just trying to be smart to make them look great.

#4 aquila

aquila

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Ford Model: streetka Winter Edition

Posted 14 August 2009 - 08:39 PM

Why is your quote so dear!!!


Here is the part & its a 10min job ;)
http://www.lambdapow...mp;model=Street Ka

#5 LottieKA86

LottieKA86

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Street KA

Posted 14 August 2009 - 09:06 PM

Thats great thank you - its a ford dealer that quoted me that price. Is it easy to fit? I wont be doing it, i'll give that job to my other half :o)

#6 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 14 August 2009 - 10:14 PM

Its just screwed into the exhaust with a wire to unplug. They can be really seized in there though so get plenty of wd40 on it and take your time taking it out.

If it breaks you will need to drill the rest of it out or worst case get a new part of the exhaust. Ford have probably quoted you for the new exhaust because they cant be bothered with taking the old one out.

#7 duffer

duffer

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Ford Model: Ka Sport
  • Location: London

Posted 12 September 2012 - 09:13 PM

Its just screwed into the exhaust with a wire to unplug. They can be really seized in there though so get plenty of wd40 on it and take your time taking it out.

If it breaks you will need to drill the rest of it out or worst case get a new part of the exhaust. Ford have probably quoted you for the new exhaust because they cant be bothered with taking the old one out.


Tell me about it! My local Ford dealer has just managed to round the flats off mine, leaving me with a weekends work sorting out their workmanship...nice!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users