Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Rear Bumper Repair, What Are My Chances?

PabloPaul

Need to keep the cost down on this damaged bumper so hopefully will be going for a repair instead of replacement but seriously- what are the chances of me repairing this damage? I have no automotive repair experience but I'm fairly good with DIY (sanding/ filling etc) so any tips on this guys and gals? If this is repairable what do I need? I plan on taking the bumper off to repair, if it looks dreadful when done I'll have to bite the bullet and buy a new bumper but fingers crossed I can fix this instead...

post-58204-0-61854200-1430432654_thumb.j

Bah!! Could an admin please edit the title of my thread for me? I have the edit button but it doesn't let me edit the title for some reason...

Edited by Stoney871
Title edited :)

Would probably be cheaper to source a 2nd hand bumper in the same colour to be honest.

Edit: eBay item 261858820112

Not sure if its the same shade?

• Like 1

Thanks for the reply Ade, our car is coloured tonic (metallic) which is a light metallic blue colour- they are as common as muck out on the roads but sourcing a used bumper in that colour is like finding a needle in a haystack. Ford want £400 for a brand new one in that colour and I can buy a primed, ready to paint new one for less than £100 which would be fine but I don't trust myself to paint it well enough, I could respray a small patch/ area but an entire bumper? I would be afraid of cocking it up so haven't tried it yet.

A bodyshop would probably charge around £100 to paint a new bumper.

Euro Car Parts sell insurance approved parts - including rear bumpers.

When I replaced mine the chap at the bodyshop was telling me that the ECP ones were among the best pattern parts he'd come across. And they were reasonably priced.

• Like 1

Tried any scrappys/salvage yards around you