Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Fiesta TDCI 2004, Key Fob issue

uncleruin

Hi Guys, Newbie here having  a problem with a key fob on our 2004 TDCI Fiesta, any help would be appreciated.

I have 2 keys , one works fine , opens the doors by remote etc, starts the car etc.

The second Key is the problem , it will not open the car by remote, but will obviously open the door and start the car manually.

Thinking battery in this second key fob was duff, I replaced it .....still no joy.

Does anyone know what I can try next?.

Also I have been told that if this keys electronics are duff then I would need 2 working keys to program a new key, i.e. I would have to buy 2 new keys to get them programmed...is this true?....    

• 2 weeks later...

Try opening the fob and brush on some electric conductive paint on the circuit board contact points. Let it dry naturally. You can get the paint in a small vial from eBay or maplins or get defogger wires repair paint from motor shop. I did the trick for me anyways. Good luck.

Hi Guys, Newbie here having  a problem with a key fob on our 2004 TDCI Fiesta, any help would be appreciated.

I have 2 keys , one works fine , opens the doors by remote etc, starts the car etc.

The second Key is the problem , it will not open the car by remote, but will obviously open the door and start the car manually.

Thinking battery in this second key fob was duff, I replaced it .....still no joy.

Does anyone know what I can try next?.

Also I have been told that if this keys electronics are duff then I would need 2 working keys to program a new key, i.e. I would have to buy 2 new keys to get them programmed...is this true?....    

The circuit board is the problem here, they do get worn out and the buttons pack up.

You can purchase a replacement button kit off eBay but a steady hand is needed for the soldering.