Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Tesco diesel

Andy sxp

Hi all , new to the forum as just bought another ford . My 2009 1.6 tdci focus has been running fine since we bought it a few weeks ago, I've been putting bp ultimate in it but my wife (against my advice) filled it with tesco diesel and 20 miles later the engine light came on, booked it into ford this frinto get it checked but have any of you know of any issues with cheap fuel or have had the same happen? Seems too much of a coincidence to me. Cheers in advance .

• Like 2

Don't use it, it will eventually mess up your car whack a bottle of 'FORTE' diesel fuel treatment in (ford stealers will probly do the same then charge you for the pleasure) and then top it up with proper diesel 

• Like 1

I've been using Sainsbury's diesel for over 6 years with absolutely no issues.I also add a hefty slug of redex in the tank as well.

Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

• Like 2

I've used Tesco diesel in mine 99% of the time for the past 10 years and have covered 155k miles without any problem. Any suggestion that it will "mess up your car" is utter tosh.

• Like 6

I don't believe tesco diesel is as good at keeping injectors and fuel lines clean, it could just be a bad batch,

1 hour ago, Vendee said:

I've used Tesco diesel in mine 99% of the time for the past 10 years and have covered 155k miles without any problem. Any suggestion that it will "mess up your car" is utter tosh.

+1 for this. The base fuel for all brands is the same - all comes from the same UK refineries. It all meets the same content and composition regulations; if anything, I'd have thought that the cheap supermarket stuff (without the additional additives of say Ultimate, Nitro+ etc) doesn't cause anything bad to happen engine-wise, it just doesn't do anything to prevent or reduce the likelihood of something bad that would have probably happened over time anyway.