• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 jimthefish

jimthefish

• Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Ford Model: Fusion 2
Posted 20 October 2009 - 02:05 PM

Being a disabled driver I purchased a 2003 Fusion with Durashift. Soon after purchasing it, it s developed a noise with a vibration. After being told by several Ford agents (including the main one in Birmingham) that the gearbox is based on the old DAF technology and the rubbing noise is the belt drive rubbing on the variant cones. I decided to buy the fiesta manual and have a look.
Their information was a load of rubbish, its a standard gearbox with electronic clutch and gearshift bolted on, I now feel a lot better as I have been driving a motorhome with similar controls, its called click and Go and supplied by Vehvac technology (have a look at their site). It looks like most of the problems are electronically based.
I have found out that the judder I get when it's warm is the electronic clutch control getting a signal from some other source, a faulty electronic probe or a warped clutch plate. I'm an engineer and feel relived that most of the repairs are under my control and not at the mercy of garage repair rates currently running a 100 an hour. Can Durashift owners with problems post some of the symptoms or solution, we can then have a human database and be well prepared for a visit to the diagnostic man with his magic box, Im sure we can cut the costs of repairs down.
Maybe we can self diagnose problems between us.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 mintalkin

mintalkin

Ford Enthusiast

• True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,480 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006

Posted 20 October 2009 - 03:25 PM

did you get a warrenty with the car?

#3 jimthefish

jimthefish

• Pip
  • 8 posts
Posted 20 October 2009 - 03:47 PM

did you get a warrenty with the car?

Yes 12 months, but only the AA 5 star

#4 pete121

pete121