Do Not Sell My Personal Information

What mods for 1.5 tdci 120ps focus

Mazferrigno

Hi.

I'm new to all of this, but I've had a focus zetec s 1.5 tdci for a couple of months and at first I thought the 120ps was quite decent. Now however it just seems too slow as I'm used to it. 

I was wondering what I could do to get a little more out of it (other than a remap) without affecting my clutch/gearbox?

Thanks 

• Like 1

Just FYI, anything you do to add any meaningful power can potentially void the warranty.

• Like 1

Any big increase in power will have an affect on gearbox and clutch. Modest increases are OK as the good companies play within safe parameters.

• Like 2

Take a look at blufin if you're after a cheap, reliable & simple map.

www.yorkshiredetailing.co.uk - approved resellers of the Highest quality detailing & Valeting supplies

• Like 1

OP has said they don't want a remap.

Thing is the ECU and standard map has torque targets, so even if you slapped on a better exhaust, reduced intake restrictions, etc. At best it will improve the responsiveness, but it is still going to make the same power, unless it couldn't actually reach its targets before (unlikely).

Also, just bear in mind, if you do look at mapping, the gearbox on the 1.5 tdci is only rated for 285Nm, so if a map advertises peak torque above this figure, then it is outside the boxes design spec.

Ford also usually limit torque in 1st and sometimes 2nd to protect the box and clutch, something most aftermarket maps remove or substantially lift.

I'm not trying to completely slam mapping, but you just need to be aware of what you can be getting yourself into.

• Like 2

Im likely to have the map anyway. I just said not map as i was looking for other ways aswell. 

I inquired about a map and i was told about a 35hp increase which is good. I was just hoping for about 180ps max really but i think it may be abit much for the gearbox.

• Like 1