Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Why can I not find the procedure in my manual for replacing the track rods ?

Fastlife91

They were only replaced in December by some guy I know, now they need replacing already !

I am a novice atm when it comes to cars but I wish to tackle this job myself as I want to learn, I have a repair manual and access to a friends garage of tools. However upon looking in my car repair manual I cannot find the repair procedure to replace the track rods !  it gives  a very brief and not so helpful detail how to replace track rod ends but I cannot see the procedure for replacing the track r0ods themselves !

are they under a different name or something ?

thanks

You only replace the track rod ends. Simple easy job once you know how to get the nuts off. Problem comes with the Allen bolt hole on top when they are rusty never holds the ball joint to undo the nut. Nut splitter or cut the bolt off with a hacksaw or grinder is the easiest way to get them off.

It's rare for the whole track rod to need replacing.

On ‎13‎/‎07‎/‎2016 at 9:23 AM, simcor said:

You only replace the track rod ends. Simple easy job once you know how to get the nuts off. Problem comes with the Allen bolt hole on top when they are rusty never holds the ball joint to undo the nut. Nut splitter or cut the bolt off with a hacksaw or grinder is the easiest way to get them off.

It's rare for the whole track rod to need replacing.

It has been to 2 different garages , both of whom have said the tie rods and tie rod ends need replacing, I am !Removed! off because they were only replaced in December.

So how can  I find the procedure to replace the tie rods themselves ?

Also it does not state what the specified torque for the track rod ends are, it just says to specify to the specified torque but does not say what the specified torque is . where can I find this information ?

Outer tie rod or outer track rod ends, inner tie rod or inner track rod.