Jump to content


Show
Photo

AUX/iPod input for 6000 Audio?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 stejan1965

stejan1965

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.6 ghia
  • Location:

Posted 11 November 2009 - 12:36 PM

I want to connect my iPod into the 6000 audio fitted to a 2004 Focus Ghia. There is no direct input for Aux of course. I am quite happy to go inside the unit with a soldering iron if need-be and I am prepared to have the Aux input instead of the CD which I never use. Has anyone done this? I uploaded a piccy of the unit just to be clear whiich unit it is.
Thanks
Steve

Attached Thumbnails

  • 6000_audio.jpg


Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 thesilverfox

thesilverfox

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 725 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus

Posted 11 November 2009 - 02:21 PM

I want to connect my iPod into the 6000 audio fitted to a 2004 Focus Ghia. There is no direct input for Aux of course. I am quite happy to go inside the unit with a soldering iron if need-be and I am prepared to have the Aux input instead of the CD which I never use. Has anyone done this? I uploaded a piccy of the unit just to be clear whiich unit it is.
Thanks
Steve


There's no need for a soldering iron on that unit, unless it is a 6-CD changer head unit.

Assuming it's not (the 6006 has the changer built in), then all you need to do is buy an adapter that plugs into the back of the head unit in the CD changer socket. The other end is either 3.5mm or 2x RCA jacks (L&R audio). Other adaptors are available of course, some that fit the iPod socket itself. This is the one I remember being most simple though.

Link below - 26.99.

HTH.
tsf.

http://www.lowcostca...ter/pid/7306202

Posted Image

#3 stejan1965

stejan1965

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.6 ghia
  • Location:

Posted 21 November 2009 - 02:19 PM

I just bought one of these. It took me all of 2 minutes to fit and it works great! Thanks for the tip.
Steve

There's no need for a soldering iron on that unit, unless it is a 6-CD changer head unit.

Assuming it's not (the 6006 has the changer built in), then all you need to do is buy an adapter that plugs into the back of the head unit in the CD changer socket. The other end is either 3.5mm or 2x RCA jacks (L&R audio). Other adaptors are available of course, some that fit the iPod socket itself. This is the one I remember being most simple though.

Link below - 26.99.

HTH.
tsf.

http://www.lowcostca...ter/pid/7306202

Posted Image



#4 pji

pji

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Location:

Posted 15 December 2009 - 09:15 AM

Just came across this thread and its exactly what I am looking to so with my 2003 Zetec. I have the same head unit.

A few questions I hope someone can answer:

1) I assume the cable comes out somewhere under the glove box?

2) How do you select the AUX input?

3) How easy is this to do / what are the chances of me messing things up badly??

Thanks,

Paul



I just bought one of these. It took me all of 2 minutes to fit and it works great! Thanks for the tip.
Steve



#5 thesilverfox

thesilverfox

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 725 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus

Posted 15 December 2009 - 09:46 AM

Just came across this thread and its exactly what I am looking to so with my 2003 Zetec. I have the same head unit.

A few questions I hope someone can answer:

1) I assume the cable comes out somewhere under the glove box?

2) How do you select the AUX input?

3) How easy is this to do / what are the chances of me messing things up badly??

Thanks,

Paul


On the radio itself, there should be an Aux button, no? Whatever button would normally activate the Ford 6CD changer, will activate this.

You can route the cable wherever you please :) But the logical place to put it is the glove box.

It's an easy task. The hardest bit will probably be getting the head unit out and routing the cable into your glove box. A few minutes of patience and whatnot and you'll be fine.

Glad someone else found this little box - it's dead handy for those who don't want to upgrade their Ford head unit etc.

#6 pji

pji

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Location:

Posted 04 March 2010 - 07:40 PM

Just realised I had not checked to see if anyone had replied! Anyway, thanks thesilverfox but there is no AUX button on my 6000 model. This means I am out of luck?

#7 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,913 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 04 March 2010 - 07:46 PM

Just realised I had not checked to see if anyone had replied! Anyway, thanks thesilverfox but there is no AUX button on my 6000 model. This means I am out of luck?



isnt there an option in the radio menu? okay done some homework the aux input if you have it is found in the glovebox its a small hole that the connector plugs into however it was an option so a lot of cars wont have it the description is.... located at the front of the glovebox, by the catch, a light grey square with a 3.5mm dia hole in it.

#8 Knight Focus

Knight Focus

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Ford Model: 2004 Focus LX 1.8

Posted 04 March 2010 - 08:38 PM

Just realised I had not checked to see if anyone had replied! Anyway, thanks thesilverfox but there is no AUX button on my 6000 model. This means I am out of luck?

From what I understand, the plug and wires emulate a 6 disc changer so the unit "thinks" there is one connected. I would imagine you would just press one of the 1-6 buttons and away you go as they would be used to select a disc in the changer.

Mike

#9 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,913 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 04 March 2010 - 10:16 PM

From what I understand, the plug and wires emulate a 6 disc changer so the unit "thinks" there is one connected. I would imagine you would just press one of the 1-6 buttons and away you go as they would be used to select a disc in the changer.

Mike



afetr reading a similar post on a mondeo forum i was lead to believe that without the aux input its not possible as the radio wont recognize the signal ive no idea what that box actually does so i cant say for sure Connects2 CTVFOX002 - Ford Models With Visteon 5000C/6000CD Head Unit. Auxillary Input Adaptor

This auxiliary input adapter enables a seamless connection of external audio source to your factory fitted radio. You can connect any audio sources ( such as portable MP3 player, iPod, etc ) via RCA sockets or by using the supplied RCA to 3.5mm headphone cable.

This auxiliary input interface connect to original head units via the CD changer port and trick the unit into believing it is playing a CD changer, whilst really playing the audio from another sources. This means the audio can be produced at a much higher quality.

Compatible cars:

  • Ford Focus 2004 >
  • Ford C-Max 2003 >
  • Ford Mondeo 2003 >
  • Ford Fiesta 2006 - 2008
looks like yopu were right Posted Image



#10 Knight Focus

Knight Focus

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Ford Model: 2004 Focus LX 1.8

Posted 04 March 2010 - 11:39 PM

I've just ordered one so I'll let you guys know how I get on!!

Mike

#11 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,913 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 04 March 2010 - 11:49 PM

I've just ordered one so I'll let you guys know how I get on!!

Mike



personally i whipped it out and fitted an aftermarket one with cd player mp3 memory card usb etc saves all the hassle

#12 Knight Focus

Knight Focus

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Ford Model: 2004 Focus LX 1.8

Posted 04 March 2010 - 11:59 PM

I prefer to keep it with the standard head unit, unless you can get a reasonably priced 1.5 DIN unit!! Just not keen on the adaptors.

Mike

#13 Knight Focus

Knight Focus

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Ford Model: 2004 Focus LX 1.8

Posted 22 March 2010 - 11:22 PM

I've just ordered one so I'll let you guys know how I get on!!

Mike

Got mine today. It's perfect! I'd recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to buy an aftermarket head unit!

Mike

Edited by Knight Focus, 25 March 2010 - 07:52 PM.


#14 Scouse

Scouse

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus
  • Location: Oxfordshire

Posted 02 October 2010 - 06:12 PM

I have a 03 CL ford Focus with a 6000cd radio/player which states it is CD changer compatible. There is no AUX output in the glove compartment. So am I out of luck to fit an output lead to my mp3 player? What other options do I have other than having the unit or another unit with aux output??

#15 wijcc

wijcc

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.6 Ghia 2001 Mark 1

Posted 19 May 2011 - 12:08 PM

I am thinking of getting this CTVFOX001 adapter so I can plug in a mp3 player to my stereo.
I have one question though, underneath the front passenger seat I have a cable and connector, does anyone know what this is for (is it for a CD changer)?


Posted Image

Posted Image

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users