Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

Adding USB to a MK7 with Bluetooth


  • Please log in to reply
308 replies to this topic

#31 InstructorPiggy

InstructorPiggy

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 TDCI ZS

Posted 09 December 2009 - 07:00 PM

Let us know how that goes..???

...along with the topic on the little cubby hole, I am quite liking the idea of just tucking a harddrive in there...therefore not needing to have the trim and wiring for by the gearstick....

Thinking that I be scouring for a mk7 festa write off with the cable and bluetooth module!!!

They make it so hard now to flipping mod stuff...couldnt just be a standard slot could it that you could wack a nice sony or kenwood etc unit in!!!

Piggy :)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#32 Jordan ZS

Jordan ZS

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta MK7 Zetec-S
  • Location:

Posted 10 December 2009 - 09:21 AM

Good work Steven we seem to be getting there slowly but surely. Will be great if you or someone else could do the whole transition and point out exactly what needs to be done. If so it seems like a 200 upgrade rather than the factory 150.. plus you could maybe sell the unit you have left over?

#33 Steven Dark

Steven Dark

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 Titanium 1.4 Sea Grey

Posted 10 December 2009 - 06:25 PM

Well the bluetooth module is on order and due to arrive tomorrow.

Faulty stereo has been replace today, so looks like i should have a fully working stereo with usb control by the weekend.

I will let you all know how it goes.

Now all thats left to do is to sell my bluetooth module.

#34 squeegy

squeegy

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCi Titanium(X-Pack)- Hers
  • Location:

Posted 12 December 2009 - 02:01 AM

Well putting my wife's fiesta aside, which luckily we ordered with usb. I have actually ordered the correct parts today to retrofit my Mondeo with USB. It is very well documented on the mondeo.org site.

You do indeed have to change the bt/vc module with the bt/vc with usb connect module. I have paid 200 for this, then there is the bezel for the glovebox, connectors and adaptors. However news is filtering through on various other Ford forums that the makers of the bt modules (Novero) have stated that there is a firmware update available through ford dealers to enable usb accessibilty on the dormant usb port. So it maybe worth enquiring at your local ford dealership if they have the firmware to hand or a Tsb to back this claim up. Failing that it might be worth an email Novero direct to confirm this before swapping out your bluetooth module.

The latest bluetooth module with finis code is: 1583717 (8M5T-19C112-AM). the last letter on the part no signifys the model type, with 'M' being the latest. This module allow bluetooth audio streaming.

Im not 100% certain on this but i believe you could actually go one further with the bluetooth module and order a module with mobile connectivity also. You would jjust need the phone GPS mapping software and perhaps the car CCC configuring on the IDS to enable you to have satellite navigation voice directions going through your car stereo and also direction prompts on your display.

Hope this info helps. Anything else i can try and tell you then let me know

#35 Jeffdeo

Jeffdeo

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Ford Model: Pending purchase
  • Location:

Posted 12 December 2009 - 04:27 PM

Well putting my wife's fiesta aside, which luckily we ordered with usb. I have actually ordered the correct parts today to retrofit my Mondeo with USB. It is very well documented on the mondeo.org site.

Hope this info helps. Anything else i can try and tell you then let me know


Please could you give a link to direct us to this particular subject.
The Mondeo site is enormous and this link would save a lot of times.

Thanks for help.

#36 squeegy

squeegy

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCi Titanium(X-Pack)- Hers
  • Location:

Posted 12 December 2009 - 04:44 PM

Please could you give a link to direct us to this particular subject.
The Mondeo site is enormous and this link would save a lot of times.

Thanks for help.


Here it is:

http://www.fordmondeo.org/forum/showtopic.php?tid/776290/

Its a rather long thread but has all the detailed information. But please bear in mind that some parts are for the mondeo only. You will need to talk to you local dealer parts dept for correct part numbers for the Fiesta

#37 Steven Dark

Steven Dark

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 Titanium 1.4 Sea Grey

Posted 12 December 2009 - 04:44 PM

squeegy i have a question. Once all the parts were installed in your mondeo did you have to get the software changed on the stereo.. because i have just finished adding all the parts to the car. Plug in the ipod and ipod comes up with the Ford screen but i have no control of the ipod. I click the AUX button and doesnt change to Ipod or BT just stays on line in.

Quote from squeegy - "However news is filtering through on various other Ford forums that the makers of the bt modules (Novero) have stated that there is a firmware update available through ford dealers to enable usb accessibilty on the dormant usb port. So it maybe worth enquiring at your local ford dealership if they have the firmware to hand or a Tsb to back this claim up." I have spoken with Novero and they said this cant be done, to be honest i dont believe them.
Thus i forked out the 180

and to everyone else - i think im very close to getting this working, probably will just go down to ford and explain what i have done and get them to update the stereo software.
And i have also retro fitted the USB into the 'secret hole' so i can put my usb hard drive in when i get it working.

#38 squeegy

squeegy

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCi Titanium(X-Pack)- Hers
  • Location:

Posted 12 December 2009 - 04:55 PM

Steve

I still have the parts on order to do the mondeo. But for my car its just plug and play. Im surprised the fiesta is not the same. So i suspect you will have to take it into your local dealers and get it plugged into their IDS to have ipod/usb functions enabled, should cost 1/2 hours labour.

#39 Steven Dark

Steven Dark

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 Titanium 1.4 Sea Grey

Posted 12 December 2009 - 05:00 PM

Funny thing is that Ford replaced my stereo the other day - so i'm going try asking them to do it for free claiming it stopped it working after they replaced it. (just so happens that the usb wasn't in the car before they did it)
Worth a try i think...

I would have thought that it would all be plug and play anyway - shame its not.

#40 Jordan ZS

Jordan ZS

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta MK7 Zetec-S
  • Location:

Posted 12 December 2009 - 05:13 PM

Go Steven sounds like were getting somewhere lol

#41 squeegy

squeegy

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCi Titanium(X-Pack)- Hers
  • Location:

Posted 12 December 2009 - 05:28 PM

Funny thing is that Ford replaced my stereo the other day - so i'm going try asking them to do it for free claiming it stopped it working after they replaced it. (just so happens that the usb wasn't in the car before they did it)
Worth a try i think...

I would have thought that it would all be plug and play anyway - shame its not.


Just out of curiosity are you plugging the ipod into the usb port and aux in jack port? Are you using Ford's Y usb/3.5 jack ipod lead?

I have just been out to the wife's car and with nothing plugged into the usb, ipod or usb is not shown on the display. Have you tried a usb stick with music on in the usb port?

#42 Steven Dark

Steven Dark

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 Titanium 1.4 Sea Grey

Posted 12 December 2009 - 05:31 PM

Just out of curiosity are you plugging the ipod into the usb port and aux in jack port? Are you using Ford's Y usb/3.5 jack ipod lead?

I have just been out to the wife's car and with nothing plugged into the usb, ipod or usb is not shown on the display. Have you tried a usb stick with music on in the usb port?



yes i am plugging into the usb and aux using the ford Y cable.

and i have tried a usb memory stick too - just says initialising USB then doesn't do anything just stays on Line in

#43 Berniesfb

Berniesfb

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk7 Fiesta Sport Van, eventually...
  • Location:

Posted 12 December 2009 - 06:03 PM

i have just finished adding all the parts to the car. Plug in the ipod and ipod comes up with the Ford screen but i have no control of the ipod. I click the AUX button and doesnt change to Ipod or BT just stays on line in.


Hi
Have you tried selecting USB or BT via the voice controls?
The only reason I ask, is that when my Sportvan arrived I couldn't get the line-in to work - pressing the aux button did nothing. I t wasn't until I went through the voice commands and specified 'line-in' that it became available on the menu and has been fine ever since...

#44 Steven Dark

Steven Dark

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 Titanium 1.4 Sea Grey

Posted 12 December 2009 - 06:13 PM

Hi
Have you tried selecting USB or BT via the voice controls?
The only reason I ask, is that when my Sportvan arrived I couldn't get the line-in to work - pressing the aux button did nothing. I t wasn't until I went through the voice commands and specified 'line-in' that it became available on the menu and has been fine ever since...


I just tried and it didn't work :(

Said "external device - Ipod - play" said back to me "not possible"

#45 InstructorPiggy

InstructorPiggy

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 TDCI ZS

Posted 12 December 2009 - 06:15 PM

ooooo, edge of my seat stuff...nearly there! :)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users