Jump to content


Photo

cruise control


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 daveyboy467

daveyboy467

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: 3 focus's, 1 s-max, 3 transits
  • Location:

Posted 30 November 2009 - 08:14 PM

hi,

just bought a '07 1.8tdci zetec climate. i've had these shape focus' before. my last been a 2.0 tdci ghia.

my question to you guys/girls:

if i get hold of parts from a ghia, can cruise control be fitted to my zetec... if so whats needed.

any advise regarding this would be helpful, as i really like cruise control. but the mrs wouldn't let me buy another ghia.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,121 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 30 November 2009 - 08:20 PM

hi,

just bought a '07 1.8tdci zetec climate. i've had these shape focus' before. my last been a 2.0 tdci ghia.

my question to you guys/girls:

if i get hold of parts from a ghia, can cruise control be fitted to my zetec... if so whats needed.

any advise regarding this would be helpful, as i really like cruise control. but the mrs wouldn't let me buy another ghia.


it can be retro fitted to any focus between 98 and 05 although the 1.4 and 1.6 engines need a little bit modified to fit so i can only imagine the newer focus will be the same. have you had a look to see if any of the wiring is present?

#3 daveyboy467

daveyboy467

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: 3 focus's, 1 s-max, 3 transits
  • Location:

Posted 30 November 2009 - 08:24 PM

stef123,

i'm going to pick car up this weekend. but i'm more than happy to have a look.

not sure what wiring i'll be looking for.

is there a haynes guide available for '07 focus tdci?

thanks

#4 Auldtam

Auldtam

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium
  • Location:

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:37 PM

stef123,

i'm going to pick car up this weekend. but i'm more than happy to have a look.

not sure what wiring i'll be looking for.

is there a haynes guide available for '07 focus tdci?

thanks



linky...h**p://www.haynes.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10001&storeId=10001&productId=48453&langId=-1

(replace the ** with tt)

#5 catch

catch

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,295 posts
  • Ford Model: MK2.5 Focus 1.6 Titanium Petrol
  • Year: 2011
  • Location:

Posted 02 December 2009 - 10:27 AM

hi,

just bought a '07 1.8tdci zetec climate. i've had these shape focus' before. my last been a 2.0 tdci ghia.

my question to you guys/girls:

if i get hold of parts from a ghia, can cruise control be fitted to my zetec... if so whats needed.

any advise regarding this would be helpful, as i really like cruise control. but the mrs wouldn't let me buy another ghia.



I also was looking at retro fitting cruise as I miss it on motorway journeys [had it on a Volvo S40]

And searching on another forum I learnt a really important component you need to have already fitted to your Zetec [to allow you to retro fit cruise]

Is the correct type of PJB, that's the fuse come connection box situated in the passenger foot well, below the glove compartment. You have to remove the felt cover retained in place by the two yellow clips. Then you need to check
that the part number ends with the second last letter being a "D" the last letter I'm led to believe is not important. I assume the wiring harness will incorporate the wires needed to fit the correct steering wheel with the cruise buttons. As I cannot see motor manufactures messing about manufacturing other than one wiring harness per model

But as you can see from the photo, my PJB unfortunately ends with a BF....b'gger

I'm not saying it cannot be done, but if you have the right PJB on board it makes the job a lot easier.

Posted Image

#6 daveyboy467

daveyboy467

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: 3 focus's, 1 s-max, 3 transits
  • Location:

Posted 02 December 2009 - 09:42 PM

thanks for you good post.

i'll be checking the pjb asap.

i'll let you know what the result is.

#7 InstructorPiggy

InstructorPiggy

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 TDCI ZS

Posted 02 December 2009 - 09:49 PM

yeah, would think you need a major mechanical type components to regulate the throttle position??! Not just ecu and control?!

#8 daveyboy467

daveyboy467

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: 3 focus's, 1 s-max, 3 transits
  • Location:

Posted 02 December 2009 - 09:56 PM

yeah, would think you need a major mechanical type components to regulate the throttle position??! Not just ecu and control?!




I THINK ITS CALLED DRIVE BY WIRE: IE: THROTTLE IS CONTROLED BY A GIVEN VOLTAGE OR RESISTANCE, SO I'M HOPEFULL THAT THIS CONTROL MODULE IS REMOVABLE AND THE FITTABLE INTO MY CAR.

NEED AS MUCH TECH INFO AND NON TECH INFO AS POSSIBLE TO MAKE MY LIFE EASY.



OOOPS SORRY ABOUT THE 'CAPS LOCK'

#9 InstructorPiggy

InstructorPiggy

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 TDCI ZS

Posted 02 December 2009 - 09:57 PM

broom handle...saw...job done :lol:

#10 daveyboy467

daveyboy467

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: 3 focus's, 1 s-max, 3 transits
  • Location:

Posted 02 December 2009 - 10:02 PM

LOL....


correct me if i'm talking poo....this info is only what i've picked up off sales guys trying to charge me 450 for aftermarket kits

#11 InstructorPiggy

InstructorPiggy

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 TDCI ZS

Posted 02 December 2009 - 10:04 PM

http://cgi.ebay.co.u...0#ht_1656wt_767

450 seems a bit steep then :lol:

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users