Jump to content


Photo

output shaft speed sensor ??


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ainzi

ainzi

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Location:

Posted 28 June 2008 - 03:44 PM

hi all im new to the site iv got a ford focus 1.4 petrol/m on a Y plate i was driving along and it started to jerk alot so i pulled over and got my garage to recover me in when i pluged the scanner in i got 1 code stored in the ecu it came up saying (OUTPUT SHAFT SPEED SENSOR INTERMIT) so i renewed the sensor which was located at the back of the gear box and then cleared the code and took it for a run but its still the same :angry: so i scanned it again and it had the same code in it ?? i spoke to my local dealers and told them i think its a faulty sensor but they say they have sold loads of them and never had a prob ?? has any 1 ever had this prob really need help with it casue it been on going for a few weeks now iv all so try speed-o clocks too and plug leads but still not fixed

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 Alfiesred

Alfiesred

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: ford ranger
  • Location:

Posted 29 June 2008 - 02:45 PM

have you tred the coil?Common fault...

#3 ainzi

ainzi

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Location:

Posted 29 June 2008 - 03:01 PM

no mate but whats doing my head is is why is that code (OUTPUT SPEED SHAFT SENSOR) still keeps coming on ??

#4 Alfiesred

Alfiesred

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: ford ranger
  • Location:

Posted 29 June 2008 - 03:21 PM

no mate but whats doing my head is is why is that code (OUTPUT SPEED SHAFT SENSOR) still keeps coming on ??



#5 Alfiesred

Alfiesred

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: ford ranger
  • Location:

Posted 29 June 2008 - 03:24 PM

no mate but whats doing my head is is why is that code (OUTPUT SPEED SHAFT SENSOR) still keeps coming on ??

A defective coil can throw up many rogue fault codes.you say your using a scanner?These will only pick up basic faults,also have you cleared the codes after doing the repair,if you haven,t cleared the code the fault is still logged in the pcm nd as such it thinks there is still a fault with your car...

#6 ainzi

ainzi

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Location:

Posted 29 June 2008 - 03:34 PM

when the car starts to judder the speedo goes crazy too would that do it if the coil was braking up iv tryed a set of clocks too but no joy

#7 Alfiesred

Alfiesred

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: ford ranger
  • Location:

Posted 29 June 2008 - 03:42 PM

when the car starts to judder the speedo goes crazy too would that do it if the coil was braking up iv tryed a set of clocks too but no joy

it may doesas i said earlier a coil throws all sorts of fault codes up,it may be juddering on start up as the coil is under load and braking down.It would be a wise move to take it to a dealer who will put it on the IDS diagnostic lap top.It may seem expansive,but you get an accurate diagnostic if they do the repair they will clear the fault codes also....

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users