Show

Guide info

• Added on: Jan 23 2014 08:08 PM
  • Views: 586

0 Ratings

Fiesta Aftermarket Puddle lights Guide *unfinished*

Posted by M4RC on Jan 23 2014 08:08 PM
*THIS IS UNFINISHED, I WILL ADD ONTO IT THROUGHOUT THE WEEK, PICTURES ETC*

Heres a quick simple guide to fit puddle lights to a mk7/7.5. This was easier for me as i already had the supply in for the footwell lights i added in .This is only a guide, do what you thinks best. Im no proffesional haha

Things you will need:

An LED strip (Must be waterproof, 12v and cuttable) - http://www.ebay.co.u...984.m1497.l2649
2 core cable - (best to get about 9 metres) - http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3f2e9a44e8
Plastic trim tool (This is highly reccomended to damage to plastics isnt done)
Single lenth of cable/wire - about 1.5m , i used a core out of electrical cable (This is needed to get from the interior light to the door seal)
Soldering iron
Torx screwdriver (to get the door card off)
Connector block, crimps OR heatshrink
Insulating tape
Multimeter is handy but not needed
How glue gun is handy but not needed

Step 1: Remove the interior light, use a small flat head screwdriver and push it up in the centre of the light closest to the front window side.It should then hinge down. It should then just pull down. Once you have it down disconect the two connectors

Step 2: Solder the cable to the correct positions, a multimeter can be used to find the postions

Step 3: Remove the passengers door seal, the whole thing doesnt have to come of just enough to get he cable down, best starting from the top.

Step 4: Use a peice of wire/cable to fish from the interior light to the door seal, then tape the cable from the light to it and pull it through to the door seal. (If you want to plug the light back in you can just remember to keep it OFF!)