Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Over and under boost (p0299,p0234)

Dread91

Looking for some advice on an overboost and underboost problem on my mk2.5 1.6 tdci.

Was driving down the motorway when I had an engine malfunction warning come up on the led display. Lost all power and couldn't go faster than 40mph (guessing limp mode) but no EML light. Got of the motorway and turned the car off and on again, car was back to normal. Just before I got back home the EML came on but not loss of power.

I plugged the car into forscan and read the codes P0234 overboost and P0299 underboost.

The only other information I can give is that I can hear a faint whistle/whine noise from the engine bay, I'm no expert but it almost sounds like a leak maybe to me. Other than that I know I have a leaking injector 1 seal if that could be the problem?

Any advice would be much appreciated thank you .

Dread

Sorry one last thing,

I ran live data of the maf and map sensors.

Maf looked all okay to me (again no expert) but the map was running around 100kpa at idle and rose to to 106kpa when snapping the throttle, then dropping to 90kpa before going back to 100kpa. That's doesn't sound correct to me, so maybe a bad map sensor or something causing that reading (assuming it is a bad reading)

Thanks again

Dread

The MAP should momentarily read close to 250 under extreme load with the car moving. Measuring it with the car stationary does not tell you much.

I would carefully check for air leaks before suspecting the sensor or Turbo. 

Unfortunately I have to keep my laptop plugged in because the battery is knackered so I cant drive and test.

Are there any specific places I should be checking for leaks?

It could be anywhere, possibly the Intercooler. If it is a leak then it may not be obvious until some pressure has been built up and may be heat dependant.