Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Mk3 mondeo estate rear subframe.

Des 63

Hi all, I'm new to the group.

Can anyone help please? I have a rusted out rear bump stop mount, what I would like too know is, is the bump stop and coil spring top mount a separate part, or is it part of the subframe?, some garages say it's part of the subframe others it's not but none are sure.

Please see pics.

20210618_222051.jpg

Hi Des63, I'm no expert on the subject of Mondeo's but it has been said many times before on this forum that the Mondeo Estates do not have rear subframes. Each part can be replaced individually. 

Do a search of this forum for Mondeo subframes and you will see what I mean. 

• Like 1

I've just had a look in my Haynes, and for the estate it says 'release the bump stop from the crossmember then withdraw it together with the coil spring from under the vehicle' 

Here's a pic from catcar of the crossmember with the bumpstop (or is it the top mount? ) shown with its mounting bolts. 

Anyway, looks like the crossmember part number is 1208358, maybe worth doing an eBay search using 'Ford 1208358'  as the search string, or trying a few breakers yards, but note that its the estate part you're after, breakers might assume Hatch/saloon and estate all use a subframe, (they might even call the crossmber a subframe!) 

Screenshot_2021-06-19-12-10-17-607_com.android.chrome.jpg

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...

Just wondering how you got on. I just failed the MOT with rusted rear crossmember on MK3 mondeo estate. I have looked high and low to find a replacement but no luck.

Does anyone know if any other vehicle model part would be identical or good places to look.

I've exhausted google for new parts and signed up to online breaker searches but having no luck.

It would be a huge shame to scrap the car which is running really well.

Thanks for helping mate but that is 2008, which is Mk4 isn't it?