Do Not Sell My Personal Information

How Can I Tell If My Focus Rear Windows Are Factory Tint Or Not?

Paulfocus

Hi guy, new here.

I just brought a 2001 ford focus zetec 2.0l with all three rear windows tinted. Unfortunatly because I'm a young driver my insurance company policy requires the car to be all factory standard and have no modifications.

How do I find out if the rear windows are factory tinted or were done later on? I have a lot of paper work for the car but nothing regarding the windows. Have been googling around to no avail.

Any help would be appreciated .

Thanks

-Paul

Hi guy, new here.

I just brought a 2001 ford focus zetec 2.0l with all three rear windows tinted. Unfortunatly because I'm a young driver my insurance company policy requires the car to be all factory standard and have no modifications.

How do I find out if the rear windows are factory tinted or were done later on? I have a lot of paper work for the car but nothing regarding the windows. Have been googling around to no avail.

Any help would be appreciated .

Thanks

-Paul

Non factory will have a visible clear line along the top of the window when opened

Two ways.

1. Go to Ford etis and put your reg/vin number in to see if it lists 'privacy glass' as an option. Ignore 'tinted glass' as they all have this.

2. Get in the car and have a look around the very edge of the glass. If it's aftermarket you should see where the edge of the film has been cut. Also from the outside on the rear window there may be some very slight bubbling where the tint will not sit quite right on the little bobbles in some areas of the glass.

To be honest I would think a 2001 would more likely be aftermarket as I don't think privacy glass was so prominent back then.

Hi, thanks for the quick reply.

I can't find any edges on the the rear side windows, but the rear window itself I can clearly see a film because it has a couple of small scratch marks going through it.