Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Not long got a focus 1.6 tdci

NeilT

Im new to this. I have not long bought a 1.6 tdci with 70.000 miles on the clock. Is there any common issues I should look out for? And is there any maintenance I should carry out more often than most?

Always do regular oil changes,I change mine every4-6000 miles.

Sent from my iPad using Ford OC

• Like 1

Yep, 6k oil changes for a start.  Yearly/12k fuel filter changes as well, they seem to clog up far sooner than Ford recommend but aren't cheap.

Also remove the engine cover and check to injector seals aren't leaking as soon as possible, catching this early saves major issues down the line.

If it's a DPF model, be aware the DPF is only supposed to last 75k, so may already have been changed, or may not...  

• Like 2

6 minutes ago, TomsFocus said:

Yep, 6k oil changes for a start.  Yearly/12k fuel filter changes as well, they seem to clog up far sooner than Ford recommend but aren't cheap.

Also remove the engine cover and check to injector seals aren't leaking as soon as possible, catching this early saves major issues down the line.

If it's a DPF model, be aware the DPF is only supposed to last 75k, so may already have been changed, or may not...  

i changed 2 dpf last week!!

• Like 1

Ok thanks is there any special oil I should use? And what im I looking for around the injectors? And what sort of price would I be looking at for a new dpf or is it ok to have it removed?

The oil needs to be made to Ford's specification.  I use Mobil 3000 5w30, but there are a few around with the right spec.

Around the top of the injectors you're looking for black carbon deposits, and/or a 'chuffing' noise with the engine running. 

New DPF is around £200 for a non-genuine part (only lasted 3 months for me! :sad: ) or £800 for a genuine one.  Removing them is illegal...but that's not to say people don't do it. 

• Like 1