Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Interior light issue (Doesn't go off)

Enlightx

can any one help with working out why if i have my courtesy light in the central position the lights NEVER goes off... even when the car is double locked and 10 mins later

if i close the door doesnt go off, all door sensors seem okay as if i open a door i get the door open message on the dash for each door and the boot.

i have messed around and once it started working. off then open the door and on then off i powered on and off car and wasn't working again.

Car is a focus 2010 MK2.5 

any ideas or tests i can do would be a great help. stupidly iv known about this for 6 months and only remembered now its got dark.

Not that im an expert but a couple of things come to mind

firstly  check the Switch if possible and clean the contacts as it could just be a bit of dirt stopping it or a poor connection

secondly   try changing the bulb  it may have malfunctioned  

Defo the switch ever since I pulled mines off wrong the plastic came away instead of the full unit and messed with the switch and mines won't go off only when switch on off position have fiddled with the copper type prongs but cant get right ford make things weird lol

well just had a thought that i can change the back for the front and try it that way. did the same though so i got a multi meter and tested the plugs 12V on each plug meaning its not the switches. check both switches and they both test okay.

give up and reassemble all and now its working. but it has done this before when i asked the previous owner he said yeah sometimes it gets confused and you have to mess about closing and opening the door to correct it.

has anyone else heard of this??

I made a bit of a pig's ear of changing the bulb in my car's interior lamp, and it wouldn't go off. I must have taken the lamp unit apart about 8 times and put it back together before it would behave. Not a well designed thing.

• Like 1