Jump to content


Photo
* * * * - 1 votes

Maf Sensor Location


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Matthew Blackledge

Matthew Blackledge

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:

Posted 09 February 2012 - 07:50 PM

Hi there,

My girlfriend bought a 1.4 duratec 2003 fiesta (mk6?) a few weeks ago, I drove it to screwfix last weekend and noticed it was running bad. I plugged my laptop into the OBD port and found P0103 (MAF sensor high input) and P0300 (random misfire). So I started searching for the maf sensor to give it and clean and test it. The problem is I cannot find the thing. I have got a new replacement form eurocarparts encase it is knackered. I even bought a Haynes book to help me find the damb thing. There is no mention of a maf sensor on the petrol models in the book, yet you can buy them from the parts supplier and the car has DTC codes showing there is a fault with it.

I have pulled the airbox off, the feed pipe to the throttle body and still cant see it or the wiring plug for it. Can anyone help point me in the right direction? Any help would be much appreciated.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 sambooka

sambooka

    Sam Oglesby

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,034 posts
  • Name: sam
  • Ford Model: mk7 fiesta zetec s
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 09 February 2012 - 08:03 PM

Hi there,

My girlfriend bought a 1.4 duratec 2003 fiesta (mk6?) a few weeks ago, I drove it to screwfix last weekend and noticed it was running bad. I plugged my laptop into the OBD port and found P0103 (MAF sensor high input) and P0300 (random misfire). So I started searching for the maf sensor to give it and clean and test it. The problem is I cannot find the thing. I have got a new replacement form eurocarparts encase it is knackered. I even bought a Haynes book to help me find the damb thing. There is no mention of a maf sensor on the petrol models in the book, yet you can buy them from the parts supplier and the car has DTC codes showing there is a fault with it.

I have pulled the airbox off, the feed pipe to the throttle body and still cant see it or the wiring plug for it. Can anyone help point me in the right direction? Any help would be much appreciated.

MAF sensor isn't that mass air flow it should be right next to the air box

#3 Matthew Blackledge

Matthew Blackledge

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:

Posted 10 February 2012 - 06:49 PM

MAF sensor isn't that mass air flow it should be right next to the air box


Yes MAF is mass air flow. I have had the airbox off and no sign of it. On my focus it is in the intake after the filter housing, you can't miss it with the great big electrical connector hanging out of the top. But on the fiesta there is no sign. So I thought maybe it doesn't have one, but that doesn't explain why parts shops sell one for it or why it has a mass air flow high voltage input error code. There is a map sensor in the throttle body, but that would throw up a P0108 code. I'm really confused.

#4 colin79666

colin79666

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Name: Colin
  • Ford Model: Had a Fiesta Titanium 1.4
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Midlothian

Posted 10 February 2012 - 07:49 PM

On the MK7 only the 1.6 has an airflow sensor, located in the air cleaner cover according the the Haynes manual.

#5 Matthew Blackledge

Matthew Blackledge

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:

Posted 10 February 2012 - 09:23 PM

On the MK7 only the 1.6 has an airflow sensor, located in the air cleaner cover according the the Haynes manual.


I know what you mean, according to the Haynes book on the 2003 only the diesel has a maf. But that doesn't explain why the OBD throws the maf P0103 code and it can be purchased for the 1.4 engine. This is driving me crazy. It ran fine for a while, then started giving me problems and has got progressively worse. There is a MAP sensor fitted but that has a different code all together.

#6 Matthew Blackledge

Matthew Blackledge

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:

Posted 15 February 2012 - 07:32 PM

Right I've managed to fix it so I'm replying encase anyone has a similar issue. The MAF sensor is in fact a the TMAP of the fiesta, not the MAF as sold by Euro car parts. The tmap definitely helped but there was still an issue that I needed to finalize. I changed the coil but it still wasn't any good so I robbed the HT leads off my focus. Problem solved and it ran better than it ever had done. So in summary I strongly suspect there were two issues running side by side. So in all it has had a new tmap £50, Coil £32, Spark plugs £8, air filter £6 and some HT leads £17. A real pain in the rear but I got there in the end. The missus is well chuffed now and I have only got to throw an oil filter on and it has had its service for the next year.

#7 Zahid786

Zahid786

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Zahid
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: London

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:40 PM

Where is the TMAP sensor located?

I have a 1.4 Duratec SE SILVER.

The car doesn't seem to take off very well when at a juntion/traffic lights etc.

I really have to put my foot down to get away, and even then it makes a loud grunting noise.

Please let me know

Thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users