Jump to content


Show
Photo

Help Please, Dash Pod Gauge

Dash Pod Gauge

  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#31 FOCA

FOCA

    Feet on the table

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,538 posts
  • Name: FOCA
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Mk3 Sleeper 194 flb.p.t.
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 19 April 2013 - 08:12 PM

Im hoping someone can help me out.

 

 

 

I know the middle boost gauge only reads to 1.2 bar, and on a diesel you will need 2 bar for full boost, but the gauge actual has a sweep of about 345 deg (almost one complete cirlce. So if I just offset the needle to be horizontal pointing to the right, then two bar would be approximately horizontal to the left.:

 

)

 

 

attachicon.gifdashpodback.jpg

The gauge may go "off the scale" or may not read the correct boost pressure, ideally it would need to be re-calibrated with the scale modified  



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#32 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,076 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 20 April 2013 - 07:39 PM

If anyone is after a MK2 pod, I found this one which is carbon wrapped-

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item5af055d40f

 

This one that is a bit knacked-

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3f24157aab

 

And this one that isn't-

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item19da5814b0



#33 ajt

ajt

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec Climate 5dr TDCi 1.6
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 21 April 2013 - 10:00 AM

The gauge may go "off the scale" or may not read the correct boost pressure, ideally it would need to be re-calibrated with the scale modified  

My thinking is that it is a linear scale driven from an absolute value, not a variable voltage.

So quick !Removed! packet calculation, 1.2 bar is represented by a sweep of 90 degrees = 75deg/bar

So 2 bar would require a sweep of 75*2= 150deg.

 

I have tried the pointer sweeping from right to left, with gauge in pod. The needle just misses at both edges, but is achivable.

 

My car has actual recorded data (after I fixed my turbo) showing 30psi (very briefly), which would require a sweep of 180 deg to show as 2.4 bar.

 

At the end of the day, I want to see if I can get the original gauges working, and hopefully later this afternoon, after usual Sunday mornig Family stuff, I will have an answer.

 

As for accuracy thing, I curently have an analogue turbo gauge (driven from inlet manifold). When I first hooked it up I could get it to shoot past 27 psi quite regularly, but with a real annoying buzzing. I had to restrict the input so much that it only indicates that its getting to about 20, but on average abourt 17. The point is, I now now what "normal" operation of my turbo is. I wouldn't care if it had no numbers on the dial, all I care is that it is behaving the same way that I have previously witnessed. If it starts misbehaving then time to look at turbo before it goes bang again.

 

Consistent readings (i.e same input produces same output (not a random output))  are better than no readings.



#34 ajt

ajt

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec Climate 5dr TDCi 1.6
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 21 April 2013 - 10:02 AM

.......

 

Alan, give you gf some TLC and then get your a s s back on here lol!

 

Thanks Sal, that got me a dig in the ribs from gf! She read it over my shoulder when it came through to my phone. :)



#35 salsheikh

salsheikh

    Sal_Sheikh

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,543 posts
  • Name: Sal
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Turbo D
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 21 April 2013 - 12:25 PM

Thanks Sal, that got me a dig in the ribs from gf! She read it over my shoulder when it came through to my phone. :)

 

aww sorry mate. oi gf, leave the poor bloke alone otherwise i'll have to report this incident as domestic abuse lol!

 

good luck Alan at getting this working, lots of us waiting with our fingers crossed!



#36 ajt

ajt

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec Climate 5dr TDCi 1.6
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 21 April 2013 - 08:24 PM

Sorry guys, today did not go as planned, so did not get around to lashing up to car.

 

Did manage to realise I am going to have to make a plug, no way can I hold 7 wires in place by hand, worried about shorting something. Went to maplins, but they didn't have anything suitable. May pop to scrappy in lunch hour tomorrow, to see if I can beg any twelve pin connector to  rewire.



#37 PantherPL

PantherPL

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: A
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Durham

Posted 21 April 2013 - 08:25 PM

Hi ! I'm from Poland :)

 

I tried install gauges from ST to TDCI. Unfortunately, gauges doesn't work. Works only oil pressure.

Turbo and oil temperature doesn't work :( Mayby TDCI doesn't have map sensor and oil pressure sensor.

 

 

Here you have a connection :

 

 

1,2 - battery 12V

3 - ground
4 - ignition 12V
5 - can -   ( pin 17 in main gauges / cable color : blue/red )
6 - can +  ( pin 18 in main gauges / cable color : gray/red )

7 - ilumination - battery 12V

 

Sorry for my english.



#38 ajt

ajt

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec Climate 5dr TDCi 1.6
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 21 April 2013 - 08:28 PM

@PantherPL

Thats a bit disappointing, but the turbo info is on the canbus, as I can read it using the FF OBD reader, or am I missing something?



#39 ajt

ajt

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec Climate 5dr TDCi 1.6
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 21 April 2013 - 08:30 PM

Damn....Just realised I was reading absoulute manifold pressure. I guess this isn't turbo boost then.

 

I will still give it ago though.



#40 PantherPL

PantherPL

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: A
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Durham

Posted 21 April 2013 - 08:41 PM

In my opinnion turbo pressure is from PCM Computer like oil pressure. I don't know why turbo pressure doesn't work  :(

Maybe we must use ELM Config to turn on something about this sensors or go to Ford Service to use original IDS Computer.



#41 FOCA

FOCA

    Feet on the table

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,538 posts
  • Name: FOCA
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Mk3 Sleeper 194 flb.p.t.
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 21 April 2013 - 11:46 PM

Damn....Just realised I was reading absoulute manifold pressure. I guess this isn't turbo boost then.

 

I will still give it ago though.

Absolute manifold pressure (Manifold Absolute Pressure - from the MAP sensor- ) is how the ECU reads the boost pressure

 

On a modern turbo diesel engine the ECU monitors the Absolute Manifold Pressure and controls the electronic actuator thus maintaining the boost pressure

 

the st2 may use the data from MAF sensor to drive the boost gauge - so you may be on the right lines - may not be easy though

 

If you can't get it (the st2 boost gauge) to work that way, you could drive the meter on the st2 boost gauge from an aftermarket boost gauge with seperate sender     



#42 salsheikh

salsheikh

    Sal_Sheikh

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,543 posts
  • Name: Sal
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Turbo D
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 22 April 2013 - 07:58 AM

FOCA may have a point - the LED sweep gauges convert the reading into and electronic reading from a boost hose.

 

i got a set from mcgill motorsport and they look like this:

http://www.ebay.co.u...a#ht_1751wt_758

 

i will get a pic of the bit that converts the reading



#43 ajt

ajt

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec Climate 5dr TDCi 1.6
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 24 April 2013 - 05:23 PM

OK bad news, I can confirm PantherPL findings, only oil Pressure works. Doh. Back to the drawing board.

 

Also found if you coonect to CAN medium, you loose outside temperature display, value replaced with hyphens, and the handbrake symbol stays on.



#44 FOCA

FOCA

    Feet on the table

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,538 posts
  • Name: FOCA
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Mk3 Sleeper 194 flb.p.t.
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 24 April 2013 - 08:42 PM

OK bad news, I can confirm PantherPL findings, only oil Pressure works. Doh. Back to the drawing board.

 

Also found if you coonect to CAN medium, you loose outside temperature display, value replaced with hyphens, and the handbrake symbol stays on.

So its not straightforward, but nothing is impossible - the actual meter on the boost gauge will be a moving coil or moving magnet analog meter, you could take an aftermarket electronic boost gauge with the same type of meter, and an electronic sender, and connect it to the boost gauge meter on the st pod.   the only part of the ST or TDCI electronics that would be used would be the ST boost meter itself (not its electronics) the aftermarket gauge would have its own sender (seperate from the cars/ ST pods electronics) connected to the boost hoses/ inlet manifold so would not rely on the cars' MAF etc  

 

So basically its an aftermarket boost gauge with the analog meter removed and (electronically) replaced with the boost gauge meter in the pod  

 

The other non- functioning gauges could be modified/ activated in a similar way  

 

I hope i've explained it so it can be easily understood



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Dash, Pod, Gauge

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users