Jump to content


Show
Photo

Abs System Broked


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#16 wase16ll

wase16ll

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Name: Tony
  • Ford Model: granada
  • Year: 1992
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 09 May 2013 - 07:37 PM

there is no shame in not being a sunderland fan :)

 

hat off to steelie for going the extra yard with the research, sounds exactly the sort of buisness you should be looking for

 

im one of the old skool mechanics too, someone like yourself i would spend as much time as it takes to run you through the why's and wherefors of what im doing/need to do in plain english...then once the problem is known, give you all the options available to get it fixed..anyone that doesnt wouldnt inspire me with much confidence in they can be trusted/honest

 

best tip is ask as many questions as you feel necessary....the moment you feel the wool is being pulled over your eyes...walk away..

 

hope you get it sorted



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#17 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 10 May 2013 - 10:12 AM

http://www.fordowner...module-failure/

 

read that thread last night , quite intresting , obv mines not a fiesta or a focus but its the same age as most of these peoples .

theres only 1 garage open sat n sun n thats halfords haha so its looking more and more like the likely option as i ring round.



#18 wase16ll

wase16ll

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Name: Tony
  • Ford Model: granada
  • Year: 1992
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 10 May 2013 - 09:47 PM

reading that, it increasingly sounds like the module, just had a quick look on a company i use for ecu repairs, sure enough KA's suffer the same problem.

 

if it is a module, then give this place a try for a quote, they can probably repair your unit which will save you the extra cost of having a new one programmed into the car.

 

http://www.bba-reman.com/uk/

 

have done a number of repairs for me and found them to be trustworthy and reliable..plus their prices are'nt too bad..though you do have to send the module to them.



#19 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 11 May 2013 - 12:43 PM

ok thank you  . 

if it is the module i dunno whether its gonna be wirth getting it replaced

after all the fuss my freind is goin to run a diagnostics test on it ...hopefully today . i feel sick knowing what the outcome is most likely to be .



#20 Steelie600

Steelie600

    Master Techncian

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Name: Kev
  • Ford Model: Escort Van 55
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 11 May 2013 - 06:25 PM

Dont worry too much. The internet is full of scare mongering and false diagnosis. I reckon itll be something simple as in my experience it mainly is.



#21 wase16ll

wase16ll

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Name: Tony
  • Ford Model: granada
  • Year: 1992
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 11 May 2013 - 07:29 PM

would tend to agree with that, just that if the car actually went to a diagnostic specialist as she was told by the mechanic, then lack of communication, speedo issue plus all the lights tends to point to the module...not come across this myself yet but apparently they are the classic symptoms..

 

time will tell..hope its good news



#22 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 12 May 2013 - 05:39 PM

bit of an update 

had a friend plug their set in to the car and came up with the code p0121. which is something to do with the throttle.

which im not 100% sure how thats connected like , but its the only code that did come up on the set .

so now i just need to get it to the garage to get fixed where im sure theyll tell me a have many more problems

with it.

althoigh this has only turned the engine management light off and the abs is on and speedo still not working. so not sure if this is a totally different problem. 



#23 wase16ll

wase16ll

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Name: Tony
  • Ford Model: granada
  • Year: 1992
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 12 May 2013 - 10:46 PM

thats an engine code,  wouldnt be concerned with that right now

abs will be on a different system, either your friends machine wasnt capable of accessing the abs or he also found  no communication from abs module

 

has anyone mentioned to you that fuses have been checked?



#24 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 12 May 2013 - 10:59 PM

yea i was thinkin it was a seprate issue , plus my car is showing no signs of the symptoms when i checked the code out  , althouh the machine did say it was pending , not sure what that means.

no nothings been majorly checked yet and ive not been charged for a anything , it was just a quick plug in to in the actual garage laptop and when it wasnt reading the car he rang me to explain and to arrange a time for a fulll diagnosis check.



#25 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 12 May 2013 - 11:03 PM

im guessing if 2 systems have failed to pick up the abs problem , and alot of other 2006 fords have had these symtoms , i have a very expensive repair on my hands :(



#26 wase16ll

wase16ll

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Name: Tony
  • Ford Model: granada
  • Year: 1992
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 12 May 2013 - 11:16 PM

or a blown fuse....which is why i asked the question

 

a pending problem can come up for a number of reasons, more often than not they can be cleared never to return, or it could be triggered by the problem with the abs...seperate system yes, but the speedo failure may possibly trigger the code.

wouldnt worry about this untill the abs has been sorted



#27 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 24 May 2013 - 03:00 PM

just a quick update if any1 still cares or wishes to help

 

finally took the car in , they cant pick up a problem with ABS , hes took it to another garage and an auto elelctrican who couldnt find a problem either checked 4fsues n alternator which are all fine, hes suggested i take it to ford (at 85 an hour itd be cheaper to buy a new car) however said the code keeps coming uo abouyt the throttle so gonna fix the sensor for that to take the managemnt light of hopefully (not sure if this will help the speedo issue like my bf tinks bt he knows nothing)

so im guessing like alot of other 2006 modles that the whole units gone bye bye :(



#28 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,410 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 24 May 2013 - 03:56 PM

Still interested. ;)

As you have ABS, the car takes data from the sensors to calculate your speed (better than the old standalone VSS).

 

P0121 is Throttle/Pedal Position Sensor/Switch 'A' Circuit Range/Performance.

 

The code means that the computer is having a problem limiting the voltage going to the sensor to begin with.

The sensor uses a 5 volt Reference voltage, the sensor detects variations of voltage so as to calculate the position of the throttle pedal, incorrect voltage equals incorrect throttle interpretation.

It could well be the ECU is malfunctioning especially if the ABS fault is flashing up too.



#29 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 26 May 2013 - 01:26 PM

well its deffo the abs full thing thats gone

now just need to find the part , i gt told not all kas have abs though and also has my car been a slightly older modle it would be easier to get the parts,i wouldnt mind really i just done like that the speedo doesnt work , esp when ur sat nav always falls off .



#30 wase16ll

wase16ll

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Name: Tony
  • Ford Model: granada
  • Year: 1992
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 26 May 2013 - 10:54 PM

http://www.bba-reman...ord-Ka-2004-ABS

 

worth checking if your ecu can be repaired,,give this company a call, used them a few times for ecu work, never let me down and prices arent too bad...



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users