Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Newbie asking for advice re AUX input

Charlotte2018

Hey I’m a newbie to the site.

i have had my Fiesta Zetec Climate for 3 years and have never encountered any problems with it.

however, the aux input has never worked.

it has the aux input socket where the handbrake is next to the lighter socket, when I plug my lead into it you can hear a faint buzzing as if to suggest it’s connected, but when I try to play from a device the sound comes from the device and not theough the cars Speakers.

i would presume the wiring is fitted for the static noise to be heard through the cars Speakers, Iv tried turning the volume up to max on the device but still nothing.

Am I missing something? Iv looked at the fuses and I can’t see a specific fuse for the socket, but there are however 2 “Audio” fuses- is it likely one of these has anything to do with the AUX socket?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated 😊

If the sound is still coming from your device the device does not recognize the connector, which is either an issue with your device or the lead. Do headphones work when connected to that device (which would point to a lead issue. If everything (incl. this lead) work connected to something else, something is wrong with the wiring between socket and radio (a short somewhere I'd say).

38 minutes ago, tomtom70 said:

If the sound is still coming from your device the device does not recognize the connector, which is either an issue with your device or the lead. Do headphones work when connected to that device (which would point to a lead issue. If everything (incl. this lead) work connected to something else, something is wrong with the wiring between socket and radio (a short somewhere I'd say).

Thank you for your speedy response!

Yes sound still comes from the device when plugged into the AUX port.