Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Ford C-max mk2 battery drain - bluetooth module fault?

jura7035

Reposted from Ford C-max Club forum.

I should state from the outset that I am not a mechanic and that this is my first post.

I have owned a Ford C-Max Titanium 2011 car for 4 years now.
Up until July 2019, my car has only shown minor annoying electrical issues. E.g. intermittent 'Power Steering malfunction' during engine start-up causing the steering wheel to lock up (the only way I have found to unlock the steering wheel is to turn off and restart the engine then quickly applying slight pressure on the wheel to unlock it).
I have never had a 'Low battery warning' message appear on the dash.

Here's my battery drain story (sorry if it's a bit long).

My brother-in-law borrowed my car for 3 weeks during July 2019 when he came on holiday to the UK with his family.
Within one week, the car's battery had drained. He managed to jump-start the car for the next stage of his tour around the UK, but within 2 days the battery had drained again. He trickle charged the battery, but 4 days later it drained. At this point, he took the car to a garage who told him that the battery was faulty and needed replaced. During my ownership, the battery had not been replaced so I agreed for a new battery to be installed. (I now believe that there had not actually been any problem with the car battery.)
This appeared to fix the issue because my brother-in-law didn't experience the battery drain issue during the last week of his UK tour.
He handed the car back to me and I took it out for a 50 mile run that day.

Two weeks later, I discovered that the battery had drained.

At this point, I started trawling the internet for information about C-max battery drain issues but my initial trawl revealed nothing.
I checked the battery voltage and found that it was down at ~3V.
I trickle charged the battery, then I confirmed that the battery voltage reading was ~12.7V.