Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Halfords Extreme Brilliance Bulbs

Foxy1

Hi,

I am a newbie and my first post so excuse me if it's in the wrong place.

I have just bought a 2011 Focus Zetec 1.6 (new shape) and decided to change the headlight bulbs, both dipped and full beam, to Halfords Extreme Brilliance. I fitted them correctly and the bulbs work but the beam does not seem to cast forward very far.

Nice bright white light but only illuminating the first 5 foot of road then total darkness.

The headlamp adjustment is on 0 so at it's maximum setting to cast the beam forward.

Is this just a trait of the bulbs or have I missed something?

Because you say they are fitted correctly and the adjustment is at 0, I would guess that it is a trait of the bulb. This being said, I just had Halford bulbs in my focus before they packed in last week and I was actually impressed with them.

Is this just a trait of the bulbs or have I missed something?

One big (well, medium sized, anyway) problem is variability of bulbs, from example to example. If you look at the reviews on 'Autoexpress', you'll find that variability is probably a more common reason for marking a bulb down than poor pattern or lack of intensity.

So, it could just be variability. Or maybe its not. Difficult to tell from just two samples, but

• Halfords own-brand bulbs are not the very best, but often reasonable; only good value when they are on their 'two for one' offer (which is quite often)
  • I think that Halfords bulbs are made for them by Alite (?)
  • They probably are more variable than the finest
  • My guess, from the reviews, is that the finest are probably either from Osram or Phillips (although both of these make everything from 'boggo' to 'extra performance' bulbs); to get these at reasonable prices, you usually have to look online, but, again the two for one offers can make a difference
  • It is probably not the case that all H'fords bulbs 'aim low'