Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Dab Cutting Out.... A Lot!

charlierwalker

Hi guys.

I have a mark 3 focus with the built in DAB stereo system.

Now, as I'm driving along the stereo will cut between the radio channels and "Seeking Channel".

It can't hold its connection to the channel, even radio one isn't reliable.

Now, I'm new to DAB and I guess I want to know whether this is traditional of DAB our my area (Leeds/Bradford) our whether my cars got a fault?

Thanks for all help.

D.A.B. coverage isn't that good in the U.K. - worse in a moving car.

DAB in urban areas, motorways and Trunk Roads should be fine - hit the Peak District, though and it's not so good... nor likely the Yorks Moors and Dales.

However, it may be the mux you are tuned to (BBC National and Digital 1 use the same frequency everywhere in the UK. Local DAB services do not.)

Car radios generally have good aerials and the BBC DAB network is designed for indoor reception and vehicular reception should be better in most instances. Enabling the auto-handover from DAB to FM may help should you venture outside the coverage of one but still be in the coverage of the other.

{Travelling from Scotch Corner to Penrith my Galaxy DAB was bouncing from DAB to FM and back, but I only had a few spots where neither was available - I was tuned to BBC Radio 2 most likely.}

It's possible the radio antenna (aerial) has a fault or (as they are amplified) has lost power, or is partly unplugged if someone has had the radio out for any reason?

Official coverage maps - check out your area

http://maps.ofcom.org.uk/dab/

Focus mk3 dab isnt very good, mine comes and goes regular, ive started to look into it, just been up m5/m6 130mls each way and just gave up and reverted to fm after an hour.

What station were you listening to on DAB? I've not been along your described route - but if it was a BBC Network (NOT Local) or Digital 1 service then I'm confident it should have been reliable.