Do Not Sell My Personal Information

The Mysterious Gearbox Drain Plug!?

cbjagtech@live.co.uk

Hi all need some advice here, preferably from a ford tech! Basically weve got a Focus mk2. Its a 57 late pre facelift but has some of the facelift bits-bit of a mix and match!

Anyway i fitted a new clutch recently, bit weird that there isnt a oil drain plug. Ive drained focus boxes before but on earlier ones, this seems to be a later one, with gear linkage at the front of the box. Im not a numpty here, i am a mechanic by trade, but it really isnt there! I googled and looked at pictures for the boxes and its different to mine, and obviously doesnt have the fricking plug! What gives, any ideas, hopefully someone who has access to Etis could take a look for me, i need to drain the oil and replace with something better, the only way i can is the drop the box out again and tip it from the driveshaft outputs, and i aint doing that!!

Cheers in advance

Chris

some of the earlier boxes didn't have a drain plug either. the oil can be sucked out through the filler plug or with a driveshaft removed - no need to remove the box again

some of the earlier boxes didn't have a drain plug either. the oil can be sucked out through the filler plug or with a driveshaft removed - no need to remove the box again

thanks for the quick reply! I knew the answer but i had to ask-thats nuts, how can they not have one- i would expect some stupidity from the french or the like but come on Ford lol!

One last question, the oil i removed was of a red/browny colour - a little like dextron however i i replaced with 75w/90 semi oil as recommended by opie oils. Now is the the right oil, as the gearchange is not good when cold, notchy and hard to shift, hence the reason to change it again!

Cheers again

Edited by stef123
Mind your language please