Jump to content


Show
Photo

Fiesta Mk6 Triple Deck Stereo Removal


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#16 experiax10

experiax10

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Name: nicolo
  • Ford Model: fiesta (GTR bodykit)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: RhonddaCynonTaff

Posted 22 February 2013 - 10:16 AM

Ive stripped mine down and taken the standard unit out. Just got to buy the fascia adaptor now, then a cd player and harness adaptor. Does any 1 know if these adaptors just simply plug and play, or do the wires require cutting? If its the later I think ill just end up popping to halfords lol.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#17 BobbyBCFC

BobbyBCFC

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Style 59
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 22 February 2013 - 11:21 AM

Hi,

They are indeed plug and play, no cutting at all. The CD player you buy will come with the corect harness, this wire will go into the auto leads adapter below.

http://www.amazon.co...1005151_3p_dp_1

Look at the frequently bought together for the fascia and adapter.

#18 experiax10

experiax10

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Name: nicolo
  • Ford Model: fiesta (GTR bodykit)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: RhonddaCynonTaff

Posted 22 February 2013 - 11:59 AM

Nice 1 for that cheers :) ill save 30quid by doing it myself then. Did yours need an aerial adaptor too though?

#19 SCRMedia

SCRMedia

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Steven
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta MK6
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 22 March 2013 - 08:36 PM

Hey guys!

 

Looking to add a new stereo to my Fiesta but I'm confused - won't these black strips that seperate the CD player / controls / radio get in the way of any new facia??

 

dashka4.jpg

 

If so, how have people got around it? Or am I missing something?

 

Cheers!



#20 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,915 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:33 AM

You can buy modified fascia for aftermarket stereos on eBay.

#21 BobbyBCFC

BobbyBCFC

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Style 59
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 23 March 2013 - 01:50 PM

Hey guys!
 
Looking to add a new stereo to my Fiesta but I'm confused - won't these black strips that seperate the CD player / controls / radio get in the way of any new facia??
 

 
If so, how have people got around it? Or am I missing something?
 
Cheers!


Hi SCR

You need to remove the whole fascia, heater controls etc. Link below. Should take you a couple of hours.

Once followed must cut off the bars.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IOiEoUjYo8

Cheers

#22 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,915 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 23 March 2013 - 02:35 PM

If you are wanting to fit an aftermarket single or double din radio then eBay has loads to do the job, at least then you'll have the original fascia to put back on the car if you sell it on.

#23 BobbyBCFC

BobbyBCFC

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Style 59
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 23 March 2013 - 03:36 PM

How do you mean put on the original fascia when you have to cut it. You would have to have a fascia which wraps around the heater controls and stretches to the glove box etc. Look at the video.

#24 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,915 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 23 March 2013 - 05:15 PM

What I mean is don't cut the trim, tbh it never looks right anyway.
Buy one designed for a double din radio.

http://pages.ebay.co...id=270815089491

#25 BobbyBCFC

BobbyBCFC

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Style 59
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 23 March 2013 - 05:23 PM

You will still need to cut the trim to fit this. I have this installed. This goes in place when the black bars are cut away.

#26 SCRMedia

SCRMedia

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Steven
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta MK6
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 23 March 2013 - 06:15 PM

What I mean is don't cut the trim, tbh it never looks right anyway.
Buy one designed for a double din radio.

http://pages.ebay.co...id=270815089491


Yeah, like Bobby says, surely I'd still have to cut those black strips off to fit this? Else I can't see how it would fit!

Is there no way to fit an aftermarket stereo without cutting those strips?

#27 BobbyBCFC

BobbyBCFC

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Style 59
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:43 PM

There isn't no sorry. It's a flaw that Ford quickly rectified and put in a standard double din size unit. I followed the tutorial in my partners looks top notch.

#28 SCRMedia

SCRMedia

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Steven
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta MK6
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 24 March 2013 - 11:14 PM

There isn't no sorry. It's a flaw that Ford quickly rectified and put in a standard double din size unit. I followed the tutorial in my partners looks top notch.


Okay thanks - will give it a go then! What did you use to cut the black strips? Did they need sanding down at all, anything like that?

#29 BobbyBCFC

BobbyBCFC

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Style 59
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 25 March 2013 - 10:11 AM

Used a small hack saw blade they are not difficult to remove. Sanded down so almost flush. Be creative you may have something that gives plastic a shiny touch. Don't ask me what I'm just throwing things out there

#30 TheWaddler

TheWaddler

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name: Jamie
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 25 March 2013 - 11:48 PM

Just thought I'd mention that you can buy a whole new fascia that ford make for a satnav (double din unit) if you don't want to cut off the bars, but they are fairly expensive! Like this one:

 

http://www.amazon.co...sxp_grid_pt_0_0



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users