Jump to content


Show
Photo

Guide Additional 12V Power Socket In Boot Focus Mk2.5


  • Please log in to reply
100 replies to this topic

#31 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,142 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 16 May 2012 - 12:04 PM

You'll probably end up blowing all the fuses on purpose just so you can have a lighty up panel - knowing your penchant for lights. :P


not a bad idea lmao
what would be the easiest way to do it, without putting my hands on the battery :lol:

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#32 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,293 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 16 May 2012 - 03:36 PM

Shorting off the fuel pump live feed usually does a fair amount of damage. Not recommended or endorsed.
Could just throw a bucket of water over the fuse board;)

#33 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,142 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 16 May 2012 - 09:42 PM

Shorting off the fuel pump live feed usually does a fair amount of damage. Not recommended or endorsed.
Could just throw a bucket of water over the fuse board;)


or instead of using a bucket, i could change the pollen filter myself
this would allow water on to the fuse board naturally. :lol:
and wouldnt effect the water shortage or get me in trouble for miss use

#34 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,293 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 16 May 2012 - 10:55 PM

:P

#35 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 18 May 2012 - 07:50 PM

i managed to pop a few fuses by turning my multimeter to read amps and sticking them on light circuits :lol:

now i have hundreds of damned fuses!!! cant buy them seperate!!

#36 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,142 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 20 June 2012 - 09:43 PM

Ford 12v Socket type with spring flap cover on top Finis:1712882
cost less than £5

#37 Fastfordman

Fastfordman

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Name: Kevin
  • Ford Model: Volvo V40 D4 SE
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 27 June 2012 - 06:24 PM

I am not sure if this has been mentioned by others previously but on my estate focus there is a ford socket fitted on the right hand side of the boot area already. Exactly where the wire is you've connected your socket to so I wonder if the wiring is carried over from the estate to the hatch but not connected up?

#38 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,293 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 27 June 2012 - 06:29 PM

I am not sure if this has been mentioned by others previously but on my estate focus there is a ford socket fitted on the right hand side of the boot area already. Exactly where the wire is you've connected your socket to so I wonder if the wiring is carried over from the estate to the hatch but not connected up?


Sounds logical, probably exactly the same loom for all cars of that range.

#39 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,142 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:09 PM

Sounds logical, probably exactly the same loom for all cars of that range.


yes ford are known for the ''one size fits all'' motto
thats why most models can activate cruise control and footwell lighting etc.
ford have one loom for the interior of the car and then a seperate one for the engine bay that they pop in to place depending on the engine but the interior loom is the same for the model regardless of spec all connections will be in place.

#40 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,293 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 27 June 2012 - 11:47 PM

Apart from !Removed! footwell lights. :(

#41 gc88

gc88

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Name: Gav
  • Ford Model: Zetec S 2.0
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 28 June 2012 - 06:13 PM

Lenny, do you remember the diameter of the hole bit you needed?

:)

#42 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,142 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 28 June 2012 - 06:45 PM

Lenny, do you remember the diameter of the hole bit you needed?

:)


pretty sure it was 30mm mate but i drew around the 12v socket cap with a pen, then bored out the hole with a dremil and a cutting bit because i didnt have the required hole saw to drill it, but the results were the same so this may be an alternative for you too if you dont have the hole saw required.

here are links to a 30mm hole saw and arbor if required, but personally if you have a dremil id use it mate, not worth spending money on a hole saw that you will only use once.

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item231e613d20

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item35ab713b58

i bought a 52mm hole saw and arbor for the fitting of the gauges in the st pod and it was a big waste of money because i will never use it again lol but if you have a friend that could loan you a 30mm hole saw then you are on the pigs back Posted Image

#43 Fastfordman

Fastfordman

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Name: Kevin
  • Ford Model: Volvo V40 D4 SE
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 30 June 2012 - 01:03 PM

Picture of the socket that came fitted to my Mk2.5 estate.

Posted Image

#44 gc88

gc88

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Name: Gav
  • Ford Model: Zetec S 2.0
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 30 June 2012 - 05:10 PM

pretty sure it was 30mm mate but i drew around the 12v socket cap with a pen, then bored out the hole with a dremil and a cutting bit because i didnt have the required hole saw to drill it, but the results were the same so this may be an alternative for you too if you dont have the hole saw required.

here are links to a 30mm hole saw and arbor if required, but personally if you have a dremil id use it mate, not worth spending money on a hole saw that you will only use once.

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item231e613d20

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item35ab713b58

i bought a 52mm hole saw and arbor for the fitting of the gauges in the st pod and it was a big waste of money because i will never use it again lol but if you have a friend that could loan you a 30mm hole saw then you are on the pigs back Posted Image


Awesome, thanks.

I've found one (from dad's endless tool supply) and i've found the 28mm and 30mm ones both fit the lighter in, keeping it secure!

Now all i need is a connector for the earth - its in the post!!

I've been looking around for earth points, but can't see any screws in there? There's plenty of round holes and stuff. I'm thinking of just doing a nut and bolt through one of the holes and connecting it there?

I'M EXCITED!

I'll also try and do the wiring for the additional light, following your route, not Preee's at the same time. I'll tape the ends up until i find a bulb housing stuff. That won't cause a problem will it? As long as the + and - ends are both properly wrapped so don't conduct?

Cheers mate!

#45 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,293 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 30 June 2012 - 08:24 PM

Run the earth to one of the screws you remove to release the boot trim.
Use a ring crimp connector on the screw between the trim and the car body.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users