Jump to content


Photo

Guide Additional 12V Power Socket In Boot Focus Mk2.5


  • Please log in to reply
97 replies to this topic

#46 gc88

gc88

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Name: Gav
  • Ford Model: Zetec S 2.0
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 30 June 2012 - 09:12 PM

I was thinking of doing that, but wasn't sure as surely itll fall if I ever need to remove the trim? And if I've sold the car or forgotten, it might not be put back!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#47 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Lawman

  • Super Mod
  • 12,830 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 30 June 2012 - 09:37 PM

After fitting the socket would there really be any reason to pull that trim again?

#48 gc88

gc88

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Name: Gav
  • Ford Model: Zetec S 2.0
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 30 June 2012 - 09:43 PM

Fit the additioanl light the other side ;)

I dunno really, I take it not? i haven't yet had to change a bulb in the back lights so don't know how where etc :)

#49 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Lawman

  • Super Mod
  • 12,830 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 30 June 2012 - 09:47 PM

Well if you run the wiring for the extra boot light at the same time and pre-position it behind the left hand trim in preparation you'll be sorted.

#50 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 7,426 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS & Toyota Levin BZR
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:10 AM

Run the earth to one of the screws you remove to release the boot trim.
Use a ring crimp connector on the screw between the trim and the car body.


+1 on that Stoney,
and Gavin the cable will be fine tapped up until you can find a boot light housing,
id say try the 28mm then bore it out to 30 if you need to.

#51 gc88

gc88

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Name: Gav
  • Ford Model: Zetec S 2.0
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 04 July 2012 - 02:57 PM

Another successful and happy customer thanks to Lenny and Stoney!

Posted Image

and FYI - the 28mm hole drill was bang on the right size (for my specific lighter) so i wouldn;t have gone any bigger with the hole.

Also like the mounting position :D

Like the fact that it works even more!

Cheers buddy! :lol:

#52 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Lawman

  • Super Mod
  • 12,830 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 04 July 2012 - 04:06 PM

Job well done sir. ;)

#53 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 7,426 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS & Toyota Levin BZR
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 04 July 2012 - 06:27 PM

Another successful and happy customer thanks to Lenny and Stoney!
and FYI - the 28mm hole drill was bang on the right size (for my specific lighter) so i wouldn;t have gone any bigger with the hole.
Also like the mounting position :D
Like the fact that it works even more!
Cheers buddy! :lol:


Bang Tidy sir Posted Image
nothing like a good mounting position with hole thats just the right size and a live wire Posted Image

#54 Nitemare

Nitemare

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus RS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: NI

Posted 24 September 2012 - 01:36 PM

12V Fitted.JPG

Thanks to this thread I managed same myself yesterday to my RS.

Cheers. :D

#55 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 7,426 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS & Toyota Levin BZR
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 25 September 2012 - 09:23 AM

Nice job mate,
I thought the ST and RS had this socket factory fitted to power the tyre repair foam compressor

#56 Nitemare

Nitemare

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus RS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: NI

Posted 25 September 2012 - 10:06 AM

Cheers Lenny,
No it was lying behind trim and I followed instructions!!! The only 12V socket fitted (RS) is in centre console unless someone knows better???

Nitemare B)

#57 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 755 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 13 October 2012 - 10:48 AM

Right guys, need some help on this one. I know it should be dead easy but I've followed the simple instructions and can't seem to get any power.

I got an old Galaxy socket to use and fished out what I thought was the correct plug from the boot wiring loom. In my case though it was a black plug on the end of blue/brown wire, not orange as everyone elses.

I've had another look for the orange plug as I assume it's simply the wrong one I've been using as my live, as I've earthed the socket to the panel screw as instructed.

See below a pic of the wiring I do have in the boot...can anyone tell me if I'm missing the plug or have something else wired instead, or if I'm just being stupid!

Cheers in advance for any advice!

IMG_0437.jpg

#58 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 7,426 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS & Toyota Levin BZR
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 13 October 2012 - 11:04 AM

Right guys, need some help on this one. I know it should be dead easy but I've followed the simple instructions and can't seem to get any power.

I got an old Galaxy socket to use and fished out what I thought was the correct plug from the boot wiring loom. In my case though it was a black plug on the end of blue/brown wire, not orange as everyone elses.

I've had another look for the orange plug as I assume it's simply the wrong one I've been using as my live, as I've earthed the socket to the panel screw as instructed.

See below a pic of the wiring I do have in the boot...can anyone tell me if I'm missing the plug or have something else wired instead, or if I'm just being stupid!

Cheers in advance for any advice!

IMG_0437.jpg

Haven't got or saw those plugs before mate,
Perhaps swap positive and negative at the rear of the socket.
And check your fuses for the 12v sockets.

#59 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 755 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 13 October 2012 - 12:11 PM

Thanks for the reply mate.

If you see the little black plug in the right of my pic, that's the one I was using as my live feed, but no joy. Tried swapping round pins etc too but nothing.

As for the other two bigger plugs, I have no idea what they're for...maybe plugs for a GPS aerial or something? Complete guess there though as I think the Denso units in the Mk2 Focus are completely front mounted, with DVD drive etc in the glove compartment, as opposed to the boot in my old Mondeo.

Checked the fuse by the way and it's fine. F110 works both front and rear 12V and the front one has been working fine. Unless there's another fuse, maybe in the engine bay I should be looking at too?

Stumped! Maybe I just don't have it, but have we heard of ANYONE else who went looking for this and found the same as me?!

#60 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 755 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 13 October 2012 - 12:41 PM

Car's a 55 plate Titanium by the way, an early Mk2. I've heard in the past that the Titanium shares the same wiring loom as the ST, hence why my xenons work and I also have the wiring in place for heated seats, ESP etc etc.

Just thinking, bit of a long shot but this might explain it...

Am I right in saying that the Focus shared the same wiring loom across all lower spec'd models, and that the rear 12V might have been an option in the estates for example, hence why the plug is there but just not wired in on the hatchbacks? Obviously the ST didn't come in an estate model, so perhaps the rear 12V live wasn't part of this wiring loom, which is the same loom as in mine, and the reason why I don't have it.

Has anyone with a Ghia or Titanium, or ST for that matter, carried out this mod?

EDIT: Just seeing the Nitemare fitted it to his RS and Lenny suggesting it was factory fit in the ST as well for the tyre compressor - so maybe my theory above is way off the mark!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users