Jump to content


Show
Photo

Guide For Focus Mk2/mk2.5 C-Max/kuga ~Elm 327 Cable And Ff2 Program

translating

  • Please log in to reply
2114 replies to this topic

#211 frs300

frs300

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Name: J
  • Ford Model: Focus RS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 25 April 2012 - 11:59 AM

You need 2 port switch. So with six positions to solder the wires.

Something like this.

http://www.soselectr...71&artnum=46624

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#212 Danny Sayer

Danny Sayer

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:

Posted 25 April 2012 - 12:13 PM

i think i gave it sorted. the switch has 6 points on it.

Would have thought canL and canH would be on the 2 different sides of the switch. Not sure though.

1 2 3 11 canL 14
--------->
4 5 6 3 canH 6

Can anyone check to see if this is right before i wire the switch up? Thanks

#213 Danny Sayer

Danny Sayer

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:

Posted 25 April 2012 - 12:29 PM

i have on of these switches. just need to know what wires to wire up

http://www.ebay.co.u...9#ht_1480wt_986

#214 frs300

frs300

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Name: J
  • Ford Model: Focus RS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 25 April 2012 - 12:51 PM

I try to explain.

There are 2 rows with 3 pins.

1 row with 3 pins use for all + wires. (doesn't matter which row)

the other row (also 3 pins) use for all - wires.

In the middle from the + row you solder the plus from the ELM board, which was soldered on pin 6
In the middle from the - row you solder the minus from the ELM board which was soldered on pin 14

On the + row you do on the first pin a wire to connector pin 6 (this is + for the HS)
On the + row you do on the thirth pin a wire to connector pin 3 (this is + for the MS)

On the - row , first pin (near the pin which is soldered on 6) you do a wire to connector pin 14 (this is the - from HS)
On the - row , thirth pin (near the pin which is soldered on 3) you do a wire to connector pin 11 (this is the - from MS)

#215 Teabags

Teabags

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Name: DB
  • Ford Model: Focus ST
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Essex

Posted 25 April 2012 - 01:05 PM

If I just want to activate the auto lock and tyre deflation system do I need to modify the elm cable?

#216 Danny Sayer

Danny Sayer

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:

Posted 25 April 2012 - 01:09 PM

thanks alot for that information.

#217 Danny Sayer

Danny Sayer

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Location:

Posted 25 April 2012 - 01:10 PM

i think you need to modify it for the auto lock and also the heated windscreen auto feature

#218 Teabags

Teabags

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Name: DB
  • Ford Model: Focus ST
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Essex

Posted 25 April 2012 - 02:20 PM

Do you install the elm cable software or do you use the putty software with the cable?


#219 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 25 April 2012 - 05:06 PM

I will post some pics of my modded elm cable if that would help
As far as I know, you don't need to mod the cable to use with putty.

#220 Teabags

Teabags

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Name: DB
  • Ford Model: Focus ST
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Essex

Posted 25 April 2012 - 07:40 PM

I will post some pics of my modded elm cable if that would help
As far as I know, you don't need to mod the cable to use with putty.


Extra pictures would be great.



#221 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 April 2012 - 07:40 PM

You need Putty to send the commands if your using ELM-FF2 only

If you use ELMconfig then connect the cable start ELMconfig and then select
"Setup ELM328 for M-Can Bus" this is a clever button civil-zz wrote into the program that saves you having to use PuTTy.

without the commands then the ELM chip will not have the extra commands written into it to open up the channels needed for the M-Can

Posted Image

#222 frs300

frs300

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Name: J
  • Ford Model: Focus RS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 25 April 2012 - 07:49 PM

Preee, do you know if it's possible to programm the immobilizer into the speedometer cluster when there is a new one installed?

#223 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 April 2012 - 08:08 PM

Preee, do you know if it's possible to programm the immobilizer into the speedometer cluster when there is a new one installed?


No that is not possible , if you imagine the program a a series of "gate's" , leading to different fields , they are either open or closed, the program writes the AS-Built data file to say either open or closed in most case's .

To program an immobilizer you would need to be able to trigger a learning section which this program does not currently do. Ford VCM would be needed.
The other option perhaps might be to join http://ffclub.ru and join in on the thread and ask civil-zz directly if that is possible.

#224 Teabags

Teabags

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Name: DB
  • Ford Model: Focus ST
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Essex

Posted 25 April 2012 - 08:27 PM

Thanks Paul that diagram is excellent, bit of a dumb question what do you do with the desolder wires 14 and 6 on the other end that not connected to the switch?


#225 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 April 2012 - 08:36 PM

Thanks Paul that diagram is excellent, bit of a dumb question what do you do with the desolder wires 14 and 6 on the other end that not connected to the switch?


:) there is no other end , once you de-solder those 2 wires they are used to wire onto the switch see center of the switch , as they are the feed which then splits in 2 and chosen via the direction you have the switch.

So dark blue wire in diagram would have originally been soldered to pin 14
Light blue wire would have be soldered to pin 6.

All wires in the connector are white , so as you desolder them wrap some tape around them and number them or do one at a time.
Once the wire had been de-soldered what is left is the PIN waiting for the new wire to be soldered too.

When you take ELM327 apart, pins 3 and 11 do not have wires on them so its only 6 and 14 that need to be de-soldered

The other End of those 2 wires are in the plug section that plugs into the circuit board of the ELM327 , see Page 1 of my photo's

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



14 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 14 guests, 0 anonymous users