Jump to content


Show
Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Latest Update - Upgrade Of Display Unit


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 12 July 2012 - 07:19 AM

Today I upgraded my display unit from the single-line to the shiny multi-line, a simple mod but makes it look oh so much better.

Old display:
Posted Image

New Display:

Posted Image
Posted Image


All done in under ten minutes thanks to TitaniumSteve's guide

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 ChrissH

ChrissH

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 12 July 2012 - 12:13 PM

Nicee - Looking good! ;)

Where are you parked? Looks like a warehouse lol :P

#3 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 12 July 2012 - 03:13 PM

Yep, do all my car work in the warehouse where I work before work starts as it's dry, with lots of light and concrete floor :P

#4 harweyko

harweyko

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta MK7 1.6l Ti-VCT

Posted 12 July 2012 - 04:39 PM

what kind of radio unit do you have? Numpad 1-6 or 1-9? Just curious if it is possible to add better display to low spec radio unit. Was there any need to update the radio software? My understanding was that the display unit is coded directly to the VIN of the car so when you change it you need to somehow unlock the new one...

#5 PPKing

PPKing

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Essex

Posted 12 July 2012 - 05:11 PM

Looks really smart mate, good job. Should be proud!

#6 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 12 July 2012 - 05:11 PM

I currenty have the 6-button, but changing the display over was part 1 of a multi part upgrade from Aux-in/no Bluetooth to USB+Aux-in/Bluetooth.

I have had no issues with the better screen displaying anything.

#7 harweyko

harweyko

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta MK7 1.6l Ti-VCT

Posted 16 July 2012 - 05:19 PM

is there any difference between the units? I'm able to buy one of following: 8A6T-18B955-BL or 8A6T-18B955-BJ, but no idea which one to choose. Thanks

#8 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 16 July 2012 - 06:02 PM

I'll have to pass this one on to inath....

Oi Nath!

#9 MikeLangwine

MikeLangwine

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Ford fiesta style +
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 16 July 2012 - 07:28 PM

hey guys anybody know where to buy the new larger screen from? also can it be fitted to the style? and is it easy and what does it involve doing?

#10 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 16 July 2012 - 07:51 PM

hey guys anybody know where to buy the new larger screen from? also can it be fitted to the style? and is it easy and what does it involve doing?


Replied to P'm ^_^

#11 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 16 July 2012 - 08:09 PM

what kind of radio unit do you have? Numpad 1-6 or 1-9? Just curious if it is possible to add better display to low spec radio unit. Was there any need to update the radio software? My understanding was that the display unit is coded directly to the VIN of the car so when you change it you need to somehow unlock the new one...


I have a 6 button radio, but the display works fine, except when I choose "phone" from the menu all it does it mute the sound as I don't have the Bluetooth fitted.......yet ;)

#12 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,583 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 16 July 2012 - 10:17 PM

is there any difference between the units? I'm able to buy one of following: 8A6T-18B955-BL or8A6T-18B955-BJ, but no idea which one to choose. Thanks

8A6T-18B955-BL - From: 10-08-2009 To: 01-06-2010 Fiesta 2008-, Matrix Multi Function Display
8A6T-18B955-BJ - From: 21-07-2008 To: 28-05-2009 Fiesta 2008-, Matrix Multi Function Display

Every so often Ford like to change the parts numbers. Could be for a variety of reasons including small tweaks or switching suppliers. They both should be the same though (but don't quote me on that!)

I'll have to pass this one on to inath....

Oi Nath!


Oi Allan!

#13 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 16 July 2012 - 11:31 PM

8A6T-18B955-BL - From: 10-08-2009 To: 01-06-2010 Fiesta 2008-, Matrix Multi Function Display
8A6T-18B955-BJ - From: 21-07-2008 To: 28-05-2009 Fiesta 2008-, Matrix Multi Function Display

Every so often Ford like to change the parts numbers. Could be for a variety of reasons including small tweaks or switching suppliers. They both should be the same though (but don't quote me on that!)



Oi Allan!


it worked didn't it? ;) :P

#14 harweyko

harweyko

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta MK7 1.6l Ti-VCT

Posted 17 July 2012 - 06:08 PM

thanks boys, I'll try it with BJ model (matching production period of my Fiesta), will report once delivered...

#15 harweyko

harweyko

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta MK7 1.6l Ti-VCT

Posted 29 July 2012 - 07:03 PM

thanks a lot for advice, works now without any problem :)

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users