DAVEWILL5

Brake Pad wear

Hi 

The Edge i have bought has 16,000 miles on it.. 

Just out of interest, what are (or is) the expected mileage for brake pads on the front and rear wheels?

I have the 20" Sport wheels, so don't know if that makes any difference?

Many thanks

Mine's done almost 18k, still on original pads F & R.

Hi All

Just about to hit 20k mileage on originals all round.
It is not really that easy to say how long they would last as there are so many different factors, like how car is driven, weather conditions, other road users, to name but a few that can affect wear n tear as the saying goes.

Happy motoring

Dave

Sent from my SM-J600FN using Tapatalk

I’m with @DavesEdge with just shy of 20,000 on the clock. No issues with brakes at all. I’m a retired traffic cop so would like to think I’d get more mileage out of a set of brake pads than the average motorist but like Dave said there are so many factors that can affect pad wear. I occasionally tow a horse in a trailer and do more short journeys than motorway stuff so that won’t do my wear any favours.  

I'm at 23k and both front and rears look like they have plenty of life left in them.

I've just had my 18K service, and my dealer said, and I can't believe it, my front pads are 70% worn and my front discs are 75% worn and asked me if I'd like them replaced!! I said no, the discs still look new to me. I can understand the pad wear but not the discs more than the pads on a newish car, I done over 100K in a previous car with the same front discs and got through 3 sets of pads, although the discs were a much larger diameter that the tiny ones fitted to the Edge. Mine must be made of lead!!

2019-01-18 20.32.46.jpg

I suppose quality does play a big part. People do like to change pads and disc's at the same time, if they aren't warped scratched or below the minimum depth then chuck another set of pads on.... Get ta moneys worth

2 hours ago, Loz1970 said: