Do Not Sell My Personal Information

car wont turn over

willmagill

hi everyone im new to fords this is my first one.

my problem is that after an emergency stop I stalled the motor when I tried to restart all ignition lights came on but fully turning the key 

there was nothing not even a click as there was no handbook with the car im stuck big time.

any suggestions as to what the problem might be and how to fix it. many thanks.

I am wondering if there is some kind of inertia switch which needs resetting. I know some cars had these so that in the event of a crash it would stop the engine. But I have an idea when they activate it stops the fuel pump working but does not stop the starter turning. But who knows what else the makers might have done on more modern cars. 

I just googled it and it suggests the petrol one has such a switch but not the diesel but hard to know for sure as makers change things in different years

6 hours ago, isetta said:

I am wondering if there is some kind of inertia switch which needs resetting. I know some cars had these so that in the event of a crash it would stop the engine. But I have an idea when they activate it stops the fuel pump working but does not stop the starter turning. But who knows what else the makers might have done on more modern cars. 

Stops the fuel pumping to lessen the chance of a fire if the lines rupture and as you say stop the engine 👍🏼

9 hours ago, willmagill said:

when I tried to restart all ignition lights came on but fully turning the key there was nothing not even a click

I have looked for an inertia cut-off switch on my TDCI, and not found it. As there is no electric fuel pump at all on a Focus diesel, there is no need for the switch.