Angelshauny

Fiesta lx 52 plate exhaust help

Okay, I’m in need of a bit of help. My Fiesta lx 52 plate is due her MOT next month and I know my exhaust needs replacing. Not just the back box but the centre linkage too. The two pieces are quite rusted and pretty much rusted together so I cannot change one without the other. I have the backbox but I am having trouble finding a centre linkage pipe.

Beastie (my car’s name)has a centre silencer on her linkage pipe as well as a flexi-pipe at the engine end. This is all one pipe, there are no connection points or joins to make me think that she has been altered, that and the previous owners were not “car people” and wouldn’t have made any alterations to her. I have a spotty service history for her and it is obvious she has had some engine repairs that I have no documentation for, so I don’t know when or why they were carried out. My MAJOR issue is that I cannot find a matching exhaust centre linkage and I am hoping some of you lovely people can help me out with a supplier or part number? I have the Haynes manual, it isn’t much help. I have the Ford books that come with the car, also no help. Is anyone able to lend a lady a bit of knowledge?

My dad is a bit of a mechanic so we are taking some time at the end of this month to give her a bit of an overhaul and a service, we do have some minor fixes to do like an oil leak, split rocker gasket and replacing the fuel line as well as the usual brake disks and pads, filter changes and so on. I won’t need a garage as we are fully supplied, pit and all.

Oh and I live in South Wales.

Thanks in advance

If you have the equipment etc do you have welding stuff. I say this because often exhausts can be repaired, eg if you say the middle bit needs replacing because it is rusted to the back part, can’t you cut it off and then weld in another bit of pipe cut off an old exhaust laying around? So as only to replace back box and not middle bit