Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Brake light fault/engine system fault

Chris Gibson

Hi all,I'm new to this and hoping I can get some help, I have trolled through numerous forums trying with so many people have ing issues, I have a ford focus ghia 2007 tdci, yesterday I was driving back from the shops and the car lost all power and steering went heavy with engine system fault on display so pulled over and restarting still engine system fault and no power, turned off and then the car  will only turn over and not fire so turned off ignition again and this time nothing, it won't turn over at all no power just ignition lights no click or anything, I'm also getting a rapid immobiliser light flashing while trying to start not the normal flashing it's much faster, it's intermittently turning over and won't fire then it will do nothing, I have disconnected the battery overnight and reconnected again with no change, I connected a ancel fx2000 scanner and it through up about 10 codes, I don't remember the codes now and have taken the battery out to charge overnight someone said a lot of the code's are false readings, they said something on the code's about can, another said about fuel additive, amd others, I will plug the code reader back in again tomorrow when I connect the battery, any help please would be very much appreciated

Can't speak for the fault codes, but the whole thing with the immobiliser flashing, as you've probably guessed, is almost certainly the immobiliser doing it's work because it isn't recognising your key for whatever reason. Is that also the reason your car noped out? Not a clue. Maybe it is, maybe it's a combination of faults.

First port of call, largely because it's so simple and cheap, would be replacing the battery in your key fob. 

Could potentially be a blown fuse as well, might be worth giving them a check as well before potentially looking at more costly issues like a busted transmitter or immobiliser.