Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Service Questions

Hi,

I have a ford fiesta just coming up to 3 years old and have done 20k miles. It has never had a service or any maintenance apart from an oil top up a few months ago.

Does it need a major service or a interim service? I looked on http://www.etis.ford.com/fordservice but wasn't sure as it has never had any services yet.

Also do you recommend doing it your self or at a dealer? I have never done a car service before but I am pretty good at technical/engineering things generally and have some of the equipment.

Thanks for the help!

If it has never had a service then definitly get a major done and i would get it done at a dealer to do it as they will give it a full checkbas if its never had a service it wont have been checked over before

i need mine soon, dreading it as (no offence adam) but every ford dealer i've been to has monkeys in the workshop, most doing their b-tec work placement or whatever it is they give the low acheivers thesedays.

I'm going to a non-franchise dealer this time, family run dealership who still write out their invoices by hand... hopefully these guys have more 'old school' chaps in the workshop :)

Doesn't an MOT check the car over? Or does the service include more checks that are advisable? After researching i'm sure I can change the oil, oil filter, air filter, fuel filter, check brake wear.

Just seems £265 that ford quoted me just for a full service is a lot to check a few things.

Thanks for the help!

during an mot no parts are removed from the car, i.e wheels, therefore a service will get more indepth

im a qualified mechanic and id suggest if u dont exactly know what ure doing you can mess things up.

but if your sure then go ahead but the dealers ask for outstanding amounts.

so take it to a local service garage who will do it for a 1/4 of what the dealers are asking. thats your best bet