Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

Fiesta Mk7 Interior Ambient Lights


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 Garzzz

Garzzz

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7

Posted 02 January 2012 - 02:16 PM

Hey all,

Happy new year! Hope everyone had a smash of a party on new years day.

Anyway, does anyone know if we can retrofit the interior ambient lights on our own? Theres a lot there just above the opening mouth of the glove compartment and the compartment at the bottom of the centre console.

Unfortunately Ford Singapore does not have these options so i was thinking of getting in online and retrofitting it myself but not too sure if there's any wiring there.

Any one has a reliable website to get ford accessories from other than european-parts.net?


Much appreciated.


Bests,

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 MartynS

MartynS

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Name: Martyn
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 02 January 2012 - 02:30 PM

I keep wondering the same thing myself, if the wiring is there for the one above the glovebox then it's apparently quite easy (just plug it in). However I don't know what the wiring looks like or where exactly it connects, but after dropping the glovebox for a look I didn't see anywhere it could go so I gave up. I also emailed european-parts in case they had any info or instructions on installing it but they didn't. We just need someone with a Zetec/Titanium to have a look at how it's wired and get a photo :rolleyes:.

#3 Garzzz

Garzzz

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7

Posted 02 January 2012 - 02:51 PM

I keep wondering the same thing myself, if the wiring is there for the one above the glovebox then it's apparently quite easy (just plug it in). However I don't know what the wiring looks like or where exactly it connects, but after dropping the glovebox for a look I didn't see anywhere it could go so I gave up. I also emailed european-parts in case they had any info or instructions on installing it but they didn't. We just need someone with a Zetec/Titanium to have a look at how it's wired and get a photo :rolleyes:.


Was also wondering if i just bought the overhead light with the 3 lights: centre light and 2 reading lights, would there actually be any wiring for that as well?

Ford in SIngapore has a terrible dealer. Atrocious more like it.

Bests,

#4 mattyi26

mattyi26

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Location:

Posted 02 January 2012 - 06:55 PM

Hi guys, ive done this and if your car wasnt meant to have them then the only way is to retro fit them, the glovebox light parts you can get from ford, they cost around 40 for the parts. When i fiited mine i thought the glovebox one would just plug in but the wires didnt work!
I had the illuminating gear knob which i split to feed the lights. As for the ambient lights above your head you'l need the new light unit, quite expensive but you will have to send a wire to them also.

It can be done as ive done it but its not as easy as plug it in and it works!

Matt

#5 fletchie

fletchie

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Name: jean
  • Ford Model: fiesta zetec s
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Worcestershire

Posted 02 January 2012 - 07:08 PM

I asked Ford at the weekend about getting the lights retrofitted to mine. They basically told me if I didn't have the wiring in place then I should forget the idea as it would be too much hassle to retrofit. If I have the wiring and the correct modules to support, they said around 40.

I'd really like the ambient lights as well.

#6 MartynS

MartynS

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Name: Martyn
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 02 January 2012 - 07:43 PM

mattyi26, do you have info on where the glovebox one should plug in then so we can see if ours have the wires and whether or not they're live?

#7 Lez

Lez

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Name: Laszlo
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 TDCi
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 03 January 2012 - 10:59 AM

Part number for Right hand drive only... if you need the Left hand drive part number please ask...
Posted Image

#8 Garzzz

Garzzz

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7

Posted 03 January 2012 - 12:55 PM

Part number for Right hand drive only... if you need the Left hand drive part number please ask...
Posted Image



Hey Lez,

can you give us the website from which you got this image from?

#9 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,602 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 03 January 2012 - 12:59 PM

Hey Lez,

can you give us the website from which you got this image from?


It's not on a website, it's Ford eCAT - a program containing all the part numbers, diagrams & prices.

#10 Lez

Lez

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Name: Laszlo
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 TDCi
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 03 January 2012 - 01:42 PM

yes, it`t the Ford eCAT, but it`s not included any diagrams...

#11 Garzzz

Garzzz

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7

Posted 03 January 2012 - 02:43 PM

yes, it`t the Ford eCAT, but it`s not included any diagrams...


Bugger, I can't log in because I'm from the Singapore market? And also because i don't have any login details.

DAMN.

Would really like to buy a few things like the interior ambient lights. And maybe even some trimming like the arm rest for instance or the silver plastics that surround the speedo.

FORD Singapore is horrible in a sense that they would not allow me to bring in a 1.6 fiesta claiming it would, and i quote "damage the focus market"

nitwits.

ANy recommendations other than european-parts to get FORD accessories?

Bests,

#12 mattyi26

mattyi26

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Location:

Posted 04 January 2012 - 09:21 AM

Behind the glovebox was a wire plugged into where it should go but inspecting it it wasnt a connector just sumwhere ford have left to hide it. Apon testing mine it had no power and i tried to follow the wire but lost it! theres so many.

If you dont want to go to fords then you'l have to split it with your gear knob if you have an illuminating one or your interior lights.

Matt

#13 Garzzz

Garzzz

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7

Posted 04 January 2012 - 10:19 PM

Behind the glovebox was a wire plugged into where it should go but inspecting it it wasnt a connector just sumwhere ford have left to hide it. Apon testing mine it had no power and i tried to follow the wire but lost it! theres so many.

If you dont want to go to fords then you'l have to split it with your gear knob if you have an illuminating one or your interior lights.

Matt



Ford really didn't make it easy to let you do any retrofitting huh. All about costs.

When will they ever take the fiesta seriously??

#14 Garzzz

Garzzz

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:20 PM

Guys, so if I was to buy the interior dome light from European parts which has 2 tiny orange ambient lights, one general light and 1 map reading light for each seat.

Will it be a plug and play?

#15 thornewell

thornewell

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S MK7 TDCI
  • Location: Kent

Posted 05 January 2012 - 06:21 PM

Guys, so if I was to buy the interior dome light from European parts which has 2 tiny orange ambient lights, one general light and 1 map reading light for each seat.

Will it be a plug and play?



Hi Garzzz. It will all be plug and play but the 2 LED ambient lights. These will need to be wired up to either the lights switch or rear light meaning the ambient lighting will come on with sidelights / headlights. I have wired the lights to my rear lights. It is a pretty simple job. Others I know have wired to the lights swith. This link should help give you and idea. Ambient Light Link

With the glovebox strip, this is something I wish to retrofit, but haven't looked into if its a straight plug and play. Chances are it isn't. I'd be tempted to tap into the ambient light connection at the courtesy light if you go ahead with that.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users