Jump to content


Show
Photo

Guide Fitting Cruise Control Focus Mk2 & Mk2.5 And Ford C-Max


  • Please log in to reply
512 replies to this topic

#121 jordan_macgregor

jordan_macgregor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Name: Jordan
  • Ford Model: Focus Mk2.5 [08-10]
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Fife

Posted 25 May 2012 - 07:10 PM

I have the satnav fx model


ahh..didnt realise this had USB, think i might have another look on ebay, where did you get yours?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#122 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,098 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 May 2012 - 07:38 PM

Mine was already fitted to the car , along with the USB socket inside the armrest

#123 ShinyAndy

ShinyAndy

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8TDCI Titanium (mk2.5)
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 29 May 2012 - 04:06 PM

Hi, I've just bought a 2008 TDCI Titanium that has cruise fitted already but the airbag cover is cracked. Having scoured Google I was eventually directed to this thread about replacing it. You say that you have to butcher the old cover to fit a replacement but do you have to remove the wheel and everything else to do this or can you do it all in situ? Are we talking side cutters/stanley knife style butchering or leverage with a screwdriver (obviously helps that the cover is already cracked)?

#124 Pidu

Pidu

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: Peter
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 AT
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:16 AM

You would need to remove airbag only, no need to remove steering wheel. Remember to disconnect battery first. You will find the "how-to" in first post of this thread. You can use side cutters / stanley knife to get rid of old airbag cover, using screwdriver might lead to airbag damage. Once you have airbag in you hand it will be very easy. It should not take more then 10-15 minutes to replace it.

#125 ShinyAndy

ShinyAndy

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8TDCI Titanium (mk2.5)
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:30 AM

Thanks Peter

#126 jordan_macgregor

jordan_macgregor

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Name: Jordan
  • Ford Model: Focus Mk2.5 [08-10]
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Fife

Posted 01 June 2012 - 06:48 PM

Mine was already fitted to the car , along with the USB socket inside the armrest


do you know if you can buy the relevant leads for a usb connection to/from the system?

#127 mattp9394

mattp9394

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Matthew
  • Ford Model: focus 1.8 tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 02 June 2012 - 03:17 PM

Been following this with interest, very keen to get on and do it but want to find a garage that is willing to activate it first before I buy a wheel.

anyway found this if anyone is interested

http://www.ebay.co.u...9#ht_500wt_1287

#128 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 192 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2007
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 05 June 2012 - 07:48 AM

Been following this with interest, very keen to get on and do it but want to find a garage that is willing to activate it first before I buy a wheel.

anyway found this if anyone is interested

http://www.ebay.co.u...9#ht_500wt_1287

Buy the wheeel and put it on, then activate it in the GEM and IPC yourself with the ELM lead...........worked on mine, 2008 facelift. Worth a shot. :)

#129 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 06 June 2012 - 12:45 PM

Just out of curiosity, does anyone know where the CC switches are in the ST, as I have seen them advertised on autotrader with CC but in the pics they have the 3 spoke ST wheel?
I haven't seen the switches in any of the pictures, so was just wondering if Ford even offered the ST with CC or are the autotrader people not telling the truth!?
:)


Cruise Control wasn't on the ST, as you say it has the 3 spoke wheel and so wasn't on it. A few of the guys on STOC are following this with interest too and looking to retro-fit it themselves. Funny seeing the ST owners clamber for the 'downgrade' steering wheel for a change, haha.

Anyway, in terms of autotrader I'm pretty sure the ads you mention are probably referring to Climate (rather than Cruise) Control when stating CC.

#130 TDCiST

TDCiST

    No Smoke No Poke... Unless you have a DPF!

  • Moderator
  • 1,681 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus Zetec S 1.6 TDCi
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Hertfordshire
Contributor

Posted 06 June 2012 - 07:07 PM

just out of interest.... would this work??

http://www.ebay.co.u...#ht_1614wt_1110

On closer inspection I appear to have all the switches... Blue and Black on brake, and black on clutch... I'll check the GEM code, and steering wheel plug on my next day off!

#131 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,036 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 06 June 2012 - 09:33 PM

just out of interest.... would this work??
http://www.ebay.co.u...#ht_1614wt_1110


That looks like a standard info/indicator stalk to me, i bet they stated cruise control purely to sell a part for a high price which can usually be picked up for a tenner at a scrappy.

#132 alkyz89

alkyz89

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Name: Aaron
  • Ford Model: focus zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 08 June 2012 - 07:59 PM

i wonder if you can buy a blank switch to go next to the heated windscreen control buttons, attach the relevant wires and use that as the cc activation switch as apposed to replacing the steering wheel and air bag??

#133 Paul-S

Paul-S

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Mk4
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Swansea

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:49 PM

It can be done alkyz89, as people on the Russian forums have added their own switches to the steering wheel, it would be cool if someone could come up with a walkthrough for fitting remote switches, as the 4 spoke steering wheels seem to be quite difficult to get hold of.

Cheers

#134 Haz93

Haz93

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Name: Harrison
  • Ford Model: KA Mk2 + Audi A5 Cabriolet
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Warwickshire
Contributor

Posted 10 June 2012 - 02:24 PM

Anyone had an aftermarket professional kit done??

http://www.conrad-an...ntrols-home.htm

Seems like the modules they sell just attatch to any steering wheel and seems to be marketed towards the focus :)


#135 TDCiST

TDCiST

    No Smoke No Poke... Unless you have a DPF!

  • Moderator
  • 1,681 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus Zetec S 1.6 TDCi
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Hertfordshire
Contributor

Posted 14 June 2012 - 07:51 AM

Found out yesterday that my local dealer are more than happy to play with IDS for me to activate cruise control and other bits ;)

The hunt is on for a wheel now!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users