Jump to content


Show
Photo

New Dvd Satnav Unit Fitted (Pics)


  • Please log in to reply
184 replies to this topic

#91 Jay Ali

Jay Ali

    Feet Under The Table

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:43 PM

Hey Sinister,

Mine only powers up as you describe.

I know what you mean, I kinda liked the old factory sony unit features where you could power on without key in ignition and it would light up when you buzzed the key fob.

Not sure if there is anyway around this, maybe a wiring issue which is a bit beyond my scope.

I am happy I bought this unit though and to be honest its worth this small sacrifice for all the other features that come with this unit and it looks the nuts in my focus without blowing my own trumpet lol :-)


Mine does the same also another thing it does is with the key out when I open the drivers door it powers up lol
and switches off when I close door


Anyway I'm still pleased with it tho love it ;)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#92 OriginalCliff

OriginalCliff

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Josh
  • Ford Model: Focus LX 1.8 TDCi
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Somerset

Posted 27 February 2013 - 08:23 PM

Aw man this stereo looks awesome! Definitely looking to replace mine for a sat nav stereo within the next couple of months and this is the leading contender atm! Looks so good, OEM and amazing value!

This is the one you guys have bought here. But I've also seen this one here.

They both seem identical bar their looks!

I love the way the first one looks but I have a mk2 Focus and would need to replace the trim (not a problem though). Also the backing light colour is Red when the rest of the car is lit in green (stock). Would love to change the stock backing lights so that they're all red though!

Also, the second one comes with a free camera which will save money!

It's a tough choice; first one looks cooler, but second one will slot straight in and comes with a camera!

Can't afford it just yet anyway :(

#93 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,913 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 27 February 2013 - 09:55 PM

the power to the stereo plugs is switched meaning the key must be in position 2 in order to power the stereo and there isnt a way round it with out causing electrical issues or running the battery flat also it should act like the original ford stereo which illuminates when the door is opened just means they did a good job at integrating it to work on the ford wiring

#94 vince_13

vince_13

    Vince

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Name: Andrew
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Staffordshire
Contributor

Posted 04 March 2013 - 05:47 PM

well i got tired of waiting, so i bought the unit today for the total price of £299.99 which i cant argue with for the features you get with it, yes id like to have paid £250 but why wait, there's no stock of silver in the UK as yet so mine is coming from Germany with a 5 day delivery so should be here by weekend i hope



#95 liam-20

liam-20

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Name: liam
  • Ford Model: focus st3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 04 March 2013 - 06:02 PM

Mine got sent on Saturday so hope fully will be here soon mines a replacement and they sorted my faulty unit out very quickly.

#96 vince_13

vince_13

    Vince

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Name: Andrew
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Staffordshire
Contributor

Posted 04 March 2013 - 07:49 PM

Mine got sent on Saturday so hope fully will be here soon mines a replacement and they sorted my faulty unit out very quickly.

glad to hear m8 gives me confidence if they send me the wrong 1



#97 liam-20

liam-20

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Name: liam
  • Ford Model: focus st3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 06 March 2013 - 02:17 PM

Replacement unit came today wahoo missed it.
35F288FB-4791-4671-84B0-5DDF889C54C1-241

#98 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,401 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 06 March 2013 - 02:33 PM

how was your original unit faulty mate?



#99 liam-20

liam-20

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Name: liam
  • Ford Model: focus st3
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 06 March 2013 - 02:35 PM

The screen flicked/jumped when cold but no questions ask sent unit back and replacement given.

#100 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,401 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 06 March 2013 - 02:37 PM

thats fair enough then mate



#101 gforce

gforce

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Name: Gary
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo ST 2.2 TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Tyrone

Posted 06 March 2013 - 03:31 PM

Saw this one the other day, can't comment on it's reliability or quality in any shape or form, but seems a fair bit cheaper than some others so just thought I'd post the link in case anyone wanted to give it a try...

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item2327eb7a0b

 

Back on the pre-facelift (rectangular) ones, there was one sold second hand through auction the other day, for more than the Buy It Now price new! Some people...! I was watching it from the start hoping a bargain may have been had!



#102 vince_13

vince_13

    Vince

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Name: Andrew
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Staffordshire
Contributor

Posted 08 March 2013 - 02:30 PM

received mine in the post today,really didnt expect it to be on time, ive just noticed they are out of stock again, and subsequently the price has gone up



#103 salsheikh

salsheikh

    Sal_Sheikh

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,543 posts
  • Name: Sal
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Turbo D
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 08 March 2013 - 06:26 PM

shame it hasnt got a android OS as you could potentially install the Torque App!

imagine if it displayed this:

 



#104 salsheikh

salsheikh

    Sal_Sheikh

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,543 posts
  • Name: Sal
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Turbo D
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 08 March 2013 - 06:26 PM

i dunno why the 1st one is backwards!

 



#105 vince_13

vince_13

    Vince

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Name: Andrew
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Staffordshire
Contributor

Posted 10 March 2013 - 10:07 AM

funny you should say that, i found a obd2 elm327 cable with Bluetooth that you can connect your phone to the car and use the torque app, its only £20 :)



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users