Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Focus Diesel Sudden Power Loss Then Stall

bprecey

Hi all, I'm new to this forum and am despairing as I've had a run of bad luck with my focus.

When driving my Focus TDCI 1.6 55 plate, I have a major issue. When driving in any gear I would put my foot down to accelerate and at about the point the turbo would boost I suffer complete power loss and the engine will stop. If I turn off the ignition and turn immediately on it will work fine until under load again. If I accelerate gently it is usually ok. This only started happening recently.

It seems electrical to me but I'm no expert. Can anyone advise please. It seems odd that it will not recover until the ignition is turned off then on. If I turn off while its slowing from the power loss ( I know it's not too clever) and turn on again I can continue.

Not sure if its related but when I turn the engine off and lock up, the odometer light never ever turns off.

Also if I unlock the car and don't open the door it will lock again, which I'm sure is a feature, but the alarm will go off about 5 minutes after it re locks.

Thanks in for any advice.

Do you get a flashing glow plug light when the engine cuts out?? Does it cut out completely or just lose power?

I had this on my old focus, as soon as it hit turbo in any gear when under load the engine would stutter and lose all power, it would then feel like it was misfiring and be very shaky... This turned out to be a very broken high pressure pump... Which in turn cooked the injectors.

Unfortunately due to modern engines if any major fault is detected the engine will go into limp mode, so symptoms may seem the same for very different things...

It would be a good idea to get a diagnostic check done on the car and get the codes read. And post them here also! We may be able to help a little more then.